Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This recipe is delicious, but a little warning: It is extremely GREASY. I recommend cutting down on the butter by about half. Also, I have made it both with and without the cornflakes on top, and my family likes it better without. Leaving out the flakes will eliminate even more of the unwanted butter. Another thing I like to do with this recipe is to grease the casserole dish, put the tater tots on the bottom and top it with the rest of the ingredients, reserving some of the cheddar chz for the very top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
794 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This casserole is so much tastier than the traditional tater tot casserole! I added a pound of cooked hamburger, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely a great "cold-day" dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
630 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This was really good. However, I made a few changes. I didn't use any butter at all, I used Mozzerella cheese instead of cheddar because it's all I had, and Durkee onions on top because I didn't have any Cornflakes. It was still delicious and didn't miss the butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Great recipe. I'll definetely use for dinner guests -- makes a lot and is easy to do ahead. But, there was absolutely no need for 1/2 cup butter in the recipe AND on top of the recipe! In fact, it was way too rich with the butter. Next time I won't put any in and about 1/2 on top. But there will definetely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I completely omitted the butter and used cream of mushroom soap instead of chicken b/c of my own personal preference. I've always loved tater tot cass., but my husband wasn't a huge fan. He loves this version though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This recipe was yummy! My kids really enjoyed it, and so did I and my husband. I made a few changes though. I didn't have cornflakes so I used regular saltine crackers and poured the melted butter over them. Also, I used frozen tator tots (for lack of time to thaw them), and I cooked it for about 1 hr. 15 minutes. I covered it with foil for the entire time except about 15-20 minutes. When I uncovered, I watched until the cracker were nicely browned them removed it from the oven. The sour cream makes it very rich, so you could probably adjust the amount to your liking. This would be very good if you added chopped ham, or for breakfast added crumbled sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
I made this for dinner tonight because I had a few extra children for dinner. It was Wonderful!! I added a layer of hamburger on the bottom, and ate it as a dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
To lower the calorie content, I used LIGHT sour cream, doubled the tater tots and doubled the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Tasty, easy, and quick. However, found it a little boring; it just needed something....maybe something spicy? Green chiles, jalapenos? Maybe some greens? Peas, green beans? Overall, great idea. Liked the added crunch from the cornflakes (watch out, they'll burn, so cover with foil about half way thru baking). Used cream of mushroom soup since I had it on hand and left off the parmesan cheese. Didn't thaw the tots and still cooked thru. A little experimenting, this could easily be a favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I made this recipe for Easter Sunday dinner, and it was very well received. I used fat free sour cream, and 97% fat free soup to save a little on the fat and calories. The taste was great. I also assembled all the ingredients with the exception of the corn flake topping the night before and refrigerated it. It save a lot of time and still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States