Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is the most greasy, fatty, salty, unhealthy recipe I've yet encountered on here. Booooooo! You can use low or non-fat cheese and sour cream, but the tater tots themselves are loaded with fat and sodium, and the cream soup is also high in sodium. In addition, the amount of butter in this recipe, one cup in total, is also devastating to your health in terms of saturated fat and sodium. Just the butter alone brings each serving to 200 calories. If you value your health, avoid this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I just made this last night and my family loved it! Just be sure to leave out the extra 1/2 cup of butter because it is not needed. I also added some crumbled bacon to this recipe and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My family loves this. I leave out the butter in the main dish and only us a 1/4 cup of butter with the flakes. I add 1 pound of cooked ground beef and a can of peas and corn in mine. I also add 8 oz of mozzarella along with the 8oz of cheddar. It's a quick dish to make and feeds a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a very decadent casserole. Like most everyone here, I agree, you don't need 1/2 c butter in the mix. 1/4 c is fine or omit it all together. Important on the cornflakes, put them on at the end. Mine burned in 20 minutes. I used cream of chicken & mushroom soup and added bacon and diced green chilies. It was amazing with the bacon. Zero leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
So delicious! I used the precooked, frozen Tyson fajita chicken strips as well which gave it more zest. Very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I Made for Easter with the ham! Everyone liked it, but didn't need as much butter/margarine,will definitely make again cutting back slightly in the margarine in the potatoes & the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I couldn't believe how well this turned out. Very rich so this will have to be a treat meal, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
My family loved the recipe too. I made a few alterations also. I completely removed the butter. I mixed all the ingredients but added 1 lb of ground beef and used only half the tater tots. I put the rest of the tater tots on top, instead of the corn flakes and seasoned the top with the parmesian cheese and paprika. It was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. I decided to use cubed hashbrown potatoes instead of tater tots. I added all the cheddar and then added about a half cup of colby jack to the potatoes. You can cut the amount of softened butter to the potato mixture in half but putting all the melted butter into the corn flakes is important, they crisp up so good !! I made all of the potatoes but there is a ton so I filled up the baking dish and freezer saved the rest of the potato mixture for a later time. The recipe as written does make a ton. Make this and you will have a great side dish, I made them with grilled soy sauce turkey tenderloin on the grill and veggies. You will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States