Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This dish was OK, but I probably won't make it again. The only change I made in the recipe was to reduce the butter to half the amount called for. The taste was good, but I didn't like the texture of the tater tots. It might have worked better with hash browns instead. I also think that bread crumbs might taste better than the corn flakes. All in all, the it was a bit of a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Good recipe. I skipped the butter (it doesn't need all that extra fat). I didn't have any sour cream unfortunately although I know that would have been awesome. I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes because I just like bread crumbs better and I reserved some of the cheese for the top. I also used cream of celery soup instead of chicken because that's what I had. I was also lazy and used onion powder instead of real onion only because I was making this for myself only. I still used one can of soup and enough tater tots for me only. Makes it a little more creamy. If I were making this recipe for 8 I'd probably use 2 or 3 cans of soup. I can see it being a little dry. Just a tip, microwave your tater tots for a few minutes to thaw them before putting them in the oven. It helps lower the cooking time. I also found I could cook this at 375 instead of 350 without a problem (at least in my oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yum! I sauteed the onions in 2T of butter first, rather than add butter to the mixture. And I also used 1 cup Panko with 4T butter for the topping rather than the cornflakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe. It is way better and more of a complete meal if you add veggies on the bottom (corn, broccoli, peas/carrots etc). I didn't use any butter at all and it was great! Regular sour cream and soup-no butter needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very tasty. I opted not to use cream of chicken and used cream of celery instead and didn't add the corn flake topping and it was very good. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
So delicious. I like to cut the butter slightly just to take out some of the greasyness in the dish, but overall it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
very good casserole. but my lord it sure makes alot, i did not use the cornflakes for a topping it barely fit my 9x13 inch baking pan as it was,, i made turkey burgers along with it, it needed a protien the casserole along just wasnt going to cut it. i will how ever cut this recipe in half next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Everyone loves this dish when I make it. I too cut way back on the butter, I only put about 2 T. of butter in the mixture and didn't put any on top. Also I used a mixture of the butter garlic crackers and fried onions for the topping. I also used the healthy request cream of mushroom soup and used light sour cream and no one knew it was a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Fabulous! With some changes...Used diced hashbrowns, 1 lb ground beef, green pepper, red pepper, yellow pepper, onion. Used half the sour cream & added helluva dip, used cream of mushroom & onion soup, used Italian seasoning but no garlic powder/salt, added pepper, added no butter to the mixture, used 1/4 cup butter with the corn flakes and also topped with tater tots, did not use Parmesan cheese or paprika. Family loved it and it really wasn't that greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States