Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is so good and easy to serve with a ham and some salads for a buffet dinner or as a potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Tasty, easy, and quick. However, found it a little boring; it just needed something....maybe something spicy? Green chiles, jalapenos? Maybe some greens? Peas, green beans? Overall, great idea. Liked the added crunch from the cornflakes (watch out, they'll burn, so cover with foil about half way thru baking). Used cream of mushroom soup since I had it on hand and left off the parmesan cheese. Didn't thaw the tots and still cooked thru. A little experimenting, this could easily be a favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
DELICIOUS! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Made this for a church pot luck , not one bit left. It was excellent, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
WOW! This is one of the most savory dishes I have ever had! Unbelievable. I mean, what could really be bad about fried potatoes and cheddar. I followed one of the other reviewer's suggestion and cut the butter down. I didn't add any to the potato mixture but dotted the top of the casserole with 1/4 cup before cooking. I also used a condensed mushroom soup (not cream of mushroom) and cut out the corn flakes to make this acceptable for Passover. Oh and I also left out the parmesean because it didn't seem like it would taste good with the other flavors. Amazing!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I fried the onions with a pound of hamburger. It definitely needed the hamburger. Also, it needed mushroom soup, which I used. Not the chicken. The flavor was delicious; however, next time I will use half as much corn flakes and finely chop them. They were just too much. But otherwise, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Erfle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
We really liked this recipe, but before I go any further, bypass this recipe if you are on a sodium restricted diet. With all the sodium in the soup, cheese, sour cream, and even the tater tots, this is most certainly sodium overload, even without the seasoned salt. Having said that, I have made this recipe three different ways. One just as it is, one adding a pound of browned and drained ground beef, and one with the ground beef and green pepper. All three are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This is very good but VERY salty. Next time, I will use a can of low-salt cr. of chicken soup and cut the seasoning salt down to 1/4 tsp. I added 1 lb. of cooked hamburger meat to the bottom and, per others' recommendations, cut out the butter in the mixture and only melted 1/4 cup butter to add to the cornflakes. I didn't have time to thaw the tater tots, which I would recommend, it was a little hard to mix the ingredients. Next time, I will cut the recipe in half for my family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Great recipe. I'll definetely use for dinner guests -- makes a lot and is easy to do ahead. But, there was absolutely no need for 1/2 cup butter in the recipe AND on top of the recipe! In fact, it was way too rich with the butter. Next time I won't put any in and about 1/2 on top. But there will definetely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Yummy!!! Very tasty.....first of all I love tater tots....grew up on them as a kid....this was a great casserole. I made a few adjustments....I used low fat cream of mushroom soup(instead of the cream o'chicken), fat free sour cream....omitted the softened butter completely...and used leftover cornbread crumbled with about 6 tabelspoons of melted butter for the topping(since I didn't have cornflakes). This was very good...hardly missed all the fat that I cut out. Will make again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States