Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I fixed this the other night with a few modifications: * When mixing all the ingredients, instead of using 1/2 c. butter, I cut it down to 2 TBSP. * I omitted the Parm. cheese and paprika. * I used mild cheddar. * I didn't thaw the tater tots. * I added cooked ground beef with onion to the mix. * I added basil & meat tenderizer (with the meat). Overall, this is very similar to the popular hash brown potato salad. This didn't seem very dinner-y to me, more for a potluck. Because it's a little sloppy, my son wouldn't touch it. It might sit heavy on your stomach with the dairy content -sour cream, cheese, butter - so make sure you're not watching your calories with this one. Because my tater tots were frozen, it took a little while longer to cook and I spread foil underneath my pan to catch any bubbling over (which didn't happen with me). And a tip, unless you're using a glass baking dish, spray Pam, or you might be scrubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Another easy to make dish, and freezes well. This is a favorite when i need something to take to a family with small children .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
It was good not great but good. I will make again my husband loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Super easy & Very good, I added some ground beef and I forgot to buy butter so I left that out completely. It was rich and yummy, my son who is super picky ate it! I also added some sour cream and onion potatoe chips to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENEXIA
Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This recipe was great. I tweaked it just a bit and came out great. I did not thaw the tater tots. I put them in a 9X13 casserole and then poured the mixture over the tater tots. Instead of corn flakes, I used fench fried onions. YUMMY Also instead of cream of chicken, I used cream of mushroom. I took this to recipe club and not one bite left! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Pretty good, although I did alter it a bit to reduce the fat content. I left out the butter and cornflakes. Used low fat sourcream and milk and added some chicken to the dish for more substance. I suggest you layer the dish with foil, it was a big mess after serving. Tasted pretty good, served it with hotsauce (which made it better) and it tasted much better when cooled off. But I think w/o the meat, it wouldn't have been as great and yes, it does need some zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This recipe was great! I did cut back the amount of butter used, and limited only to the corn flakes. Next time I plan to throw some shredded chicken in it. Yum! The kids loved it, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
It tasted like it was missing something. I can't figure out what it is though. I thought it was ok but my bf liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Good recipe! One could probably cut back on the butter though! I used jalepeno chips that I had in the cupboard instead of cornflakes. Tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This was absolutely delicious, but next time I will cut the chopped onion down to a 1/2 cup! Too much onion made it very onion-y! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States