Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
To make this lower calorie: I made this with ground turkey. Instead of milk I just mixed half can of water with the soup. I layered meat first, then green beans, then soup on top of that. Then put the tater tots on top and baked at 425 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have been making something like this for years, but i cook the tator tots while i'm browning the beef. i add garlic powder and seasoning salt to the meat. when tatortots are done i mix add the beef in a casserole dish with garlic alfredo sauce (instead of cream of mushroom), green beans, corn and tons of colby jack shredded cheese and mix it all up. i then put sliced cheese on top and stick it back in the oven until the cheese is melted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
A good weekday supper. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added a can of tomato sauce. My husband came home much earlier than expected, so to speed things along. I mixed everything for the sauce in the pan on the stovetop, got it warm quickly, microwaved the tator tots til warm. Added the tots on top and threw in a 450 degree oven until they got a little crunchy. A good recipe, but a little salty for me, but I like no salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm writing this as I'm eating this... I just made a few changes. I doubled the recipe and used a can of cream of chicken with a can of cream of celery instead of the mushrooms. I also added some Lawreys seasoning salt to the meat! I also used freshly canned green beans (yum!) and we added about 3/4 cups of shredded chedder!!! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I thought this was really satisfying. I sauteed some shallots in olive oil before adding in the beef. I seasoned beef with S&P, garlic powder, and then stirred in only 1/2 cup milk, and the soup. I used Campbells Low-Sodium Cream of Mushroom soup. I used broccoli instead of green beans, and sprinkled extra sharp cheddar on top of the tots. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
As far as the recipe goes, it turned out perfectly. My kids only thought it was ok and my husband and I just didn't really care for it. It was an quick and easy recipe to make. The flavor was alright. I think if I were to make soemthing like this again I would use mashed potatoes instead of tater tots and have a sort of shepards pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used to eat this as a kid all the time. I leave the vegitables out of it for a personal preferance. It is like comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I put the tater tots on the bottom, cooked at 400 for 20 minutes and take out of oven and mashed down to form a shell. Add ground beef, layer broccoli or any vegetable add cheese and top with durkey's. Bake for 30 min at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy2Maddox
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This dish is impossible to have leftovers with. Even if I increase the size of the casserole, it still disappears and the only request I have had from anyone is to "MAKE MORE next time!" I do add a couple more things to it and it is fabulous. I add a dash of white cooking wine, about a 1/4 cup of sour cream, and shredded cheese right under the tots. Makes an excellent dish. Simple and quick, this is a great recipe that anyone will love! Edited to add: I also add a little Worcestershire sauce to the hamburger meat. It gives it a wonderful flavor when paired with the wine and sour cream. LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was the best casserole ever! My only change was to chop up the chops first. Quick and Easy my fav way to do things!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKIPA2B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States