Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The first time I made this dish, according to this recipe, it was bland and soupy (but still edible and good, since I love green beans and beef). Last night I made it a second time, and I still had problems with it being soupy, but I added one of Tastfully Simple's meat spices to the beef while I cooked it to give it flavor. I also topped the dish with cheese before I baked it. Overall, I think I will omit the milk the next time I make this dish, but it's definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
At school, we didn't have any cream of mushroom on stock so we used cream of celery soup. I didn't really like it. The tator tots were the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I liked the texture of the Tater Tot Casserole. I didn't like the taste of it thought because we used Cream of Celery Soup instead of Cream of Mushroom. It was not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bkregel
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This casserole was waaay goood! I would add more vegetables to give it more taste, but overall it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have had this saved since 2001 in my recipe box and finally made it :) As far as tator tot casserole is concerned, it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLCHANSLER
Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My kids liked this recipe. I thought it was a little bland and slightly watery and I didnt add the full amout of milk. I did use 1lb of gr. beef instead of 1/2 lb which im glad I did otherwise it would have been even more watery. I will probably make this again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Our family thought this was excellent! The only couple of things I did differently was (1) used ground turkey instead of ground beef, (2) added poultry seasoning to the browned turkey meat, and (3) added cheddar cheese before adding the tater tots. Very good, very easy, and we all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe as indicated. Looked great, smelled good, but I did not care for this. The meat portion was pretty nice, but with the tater tots- no. I might make the meat again and add real potatoes, but it'll be a while before my family forgets how bad this was. I ended up making a frozen pizza instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The family loved it- including my picky husband and 2-year-old. Made a few of the suggested modifications and it was delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe calls for too much milk. It made the casserole bland and runny. I think cutting it down to 1/2 or 3/4 of a cup of milk would make it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerkstr4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States