Tater Tot Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Everyone liked this. I forgot to add the garlic salt while I was mixing it up, so I ended up sprinkiling it on top after it was in the oven, but it was still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made exactly as specified, except I substituted ground venison hamburger. It was delicious and masked the sometimes gamey taste of the deer. Delicious! There's a second one in the freezer for future meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this recipe. I'm always adding corn and sometimes peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenstein
Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My mom and husband really liked this recipe. I liked it because it was simple, with just a few ingredients and very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a pretty good tater tot casserole, better then the last recipe I tried on here but still wasn't very memorable. I made mine a bit differently, this is what I did. I used 1 lb. of hamburger and while I browned it I used salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and some steak seasoning (Lawrys to be exact) I drained the meat, added the one can of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of milk and that seemed to be the perfect consistency for 1 lb. of hamburger. I added one can of corn instead of green beans, and mixed about half a bag of shredded cheddar cheese to it, topped with tater tots, baked for a half hour, took it out and topped it with the rest of the bag of cheddar and then baked for about another 10 mins until the cheese was melted. It wasn't a bad casserole but it just needs a little more 'spunk' than the recipe lists. Over all, I'd say give it a try but add your own seasoning, and plenty of them. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just as I remembered from my childhood. The whole family loves it. I will use this again! I did use 1 lb of hamburger and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made a few changes based on other reviews. I added a splash of worshetershire sauce, 1/2 package of sharp cheddar cheese, I used roasted garlic mushroom soup. I then added a thin layer of french fried onions between the meat and tot layer. I also turned the broiler on during the last 8 min of cooking. Wonderful dish, but no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Not a bad casserole as is but I made some changes to mine... first i doubled it for a 9x13 pan... I also cut back the milk to a cup and a half (for the 9x13 pan) added a can of mushrooms and some shredded cheese under the tater tots... these additions seemed to make it a little better... not a bad recipe though... very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhibeemommy78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I just made this again and threw in what I had - it was even better than before. 3/4 lb ground meat, heaping tsp garlic, red bell pepper, celery, onion and a good dash of garlic salt. After cooking that up I added the soup and milk, stirred and put into a casserole dish. Topped it with frozen mixed veggies then cheese. At this point I put it in the fridge for the day - overnight would have been fine. Later I cooked it covered about 30 min then put on as many tater tots as looked right and cooked uncovered another 30 minutes until the potatoes were done. Very good and filling on a cold night and I really like make ahead stuff. Great dish Drew and thanks to "something different again?!" for posting the picture that made me think of mixed veggies and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States