Tater Tot Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this is officially my new favorite recipe! i did make a few changes to improve it slightly in my book. i used extra crispy tater tots (instead of regular tots), used fat free knudsens brand sour cream and 98% fat free cream of chicken soup. i used sharp cheddar and doubled the recommended amount (i love cheese!). i also bought the larger can of french fried onions and mixed 1/2 in with the soup, sc, and cheese mixture. once the mixture is spread over the tots, i sprinkled with garlic powder and finished it off with the last of the ff onions. super easy and heats up great for leftovers! yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This will replace my tater-tot casserole recipe after adding a few things to the original recipe. Since it's not a main dish in this household if there's no meat, I added a pound of hambuger browned with some onions. I mixed in a can of green beans, cut the sour cream in half, and added some garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I also used 2 cups of sharp cheddar instead of just one. I was a little skeptical of putting the tater-tots on the bottom, but they crisped up nicely. My friend and her mom who were over for dinner couldn't stop eating it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very easy, and surprisingly good. When I put a layer of frozen tater tots on the bottom of the pan, and this gloopy mess that was supposed to turn into "sauce" on the top, I had my doubts. I wasn't sure it would really turn into a casserole. But it came out great. Tasty, very filling, and it makes a LOT. Would be a great dish for feeding a large group. I followed the recipe, but added an extra cup of cheese to the sauce mixture. I used non-fat sour cream. I also added some chopped red bell pepper, some cooked and chopped up sausage, (veggie sausage that is - 1 pkg MorningStar Farms brand veggie sausage patties,)and one bag frozen broccoli florets. I was very good, and the FF onions, (which I almost omitted, since they don't seem much like a real food item to me) actually add some great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made the recipe "as is" which is why I only give it 3 stars. It was just okay... a little bland, and while I don't like mushrooms, I love greenbean casserole at the holidays so I thought I would like this too. It just didn't do it for me. I think I will try this again but make it "mexican" style by substituting the mushroom soup with cheese soup and adding jalapenos, black beans and corn. And probably use only half a can of onions... a whole can was just too much.****UPDATE**** OMIGOSH, tatertot casserole is sooooo good with the substitutions I made. I didn't add black beans, but I did use cheddar cheese soup mixed with corn, jalapenos, half the amount of sour cream and cheese, and some taco seasoning. It was soo delish. Also, I sprinkled crushed tortilla chips instead of frenches onions and sprinkled more cheese on top. This is a great alternative to those who don't really like mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This casserole if a family favorite! I add a can of peas, a small onion, and 1 pound of cooked hamburger and use a little more sour cream and a little milk so it's not so thick. FABOULOUS! I make it a couple times a month by request
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
NOTE: My rating is based on the modifications I made as follows: 1) I didn't have the fried onions so I used about a cup of raw onion diced and added it to the sour cream/soup/cheese mixture. 2) I ended up almost doubling the cheese and put some of it on top of the casserole before baking it. 3) I let it bake an extra 20 minutes This recipe was better tasting to me than the traditional cheesey potatoes we make using southern style hash browns. I was surprised at this and at how the tater tots break apart into smaller pieces so that the cheese/soup/sour cream mixture blends in throughout the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
VERY teenage friendly! I used cream of chicken soup instead and it was awesome!! My husband & I liked it but it was my 3 teens that gobbled this down. The ONLY problem I had was not "oiling" my casserole dish down as suggested and I used Pam spray instead. Next time I'll use cooking oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Super easy & surprisingly very good! The tator tots/rounds crisp up nicely & the sauce is very creamy. I would definitely double the amount of cheese though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe was very good. I used half the sour cream, and added red peppers and chopped broccoli. My husband loved it and requested it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
My kids will actually eat this, and my husband likes to fry up the leftovers the next morning with a few eggs. It sounds strange, but it is delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States