Tater Tot Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Everyone loved this, especially the crunchy bits around the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I added cooked ground turkey sausage to the recipe and towards the end of cooking I topped it with the french fried onions and covered the top with shredded cheddar cheese. This one of my most favorite recipes! It's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
love love this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My kids loved it, my husband didn't. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Took this to a taigate and there wasn't a tot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The ultimate in comfort food! This dish brings me back to my childhood...even my college sorority cook made this. This version is definitely better. After finding this recipe and making this many, many times now, I make the following changes: brown a pound of 93/7 hamburger, seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, and half an onion; no grease to drain! I brown an entire bag of crispy crowns instead of regular tots. I layer the hamburger meat over the crispy crowns, then spread the soup mixture, which incorporates the top reviewer's suggestion to add more sharp cheddar than called for, some French fried onions, and I also season the mixture with additional spices to my liking (garlic & onion powders, a little paprika and pepper). I also use the Roasted Garlic Cream of Mushroom soup and the entire 16 oz container of sour cream. It's thick and creamy and using the back of a spoon, it spreads easier than you think. So what if the hamburger is mixed in? Top that with some additional cheese and bake 35-40 minutes at 350. 1-2 minutes before it's done, I sprinkle a few more French fried onions on the top and turn the oven to broil. After taking it out, let it sit for 10 minutes. Perfection! Now, if only my husband would let me add some green beans to the mix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I had my 12 year old put this meal together and put it in the oven before we got home. The outcome was delicious, however not the healthiest meal in the world! Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll add 1/4C of milk to the soup/sour cream (to start) because the soup/sour cream mixture was quite thick and, once it started cooling down on the table, it started to congeal. My husband LOVED this which is weird b/c he doesn't "love" any food and in particular he's not much of a sour cream fan (he had no idea there was sour cream in this dish). I served w/a fried swiss chard & spinach mixture and I'm glad I did because all the richness needed a counterpoint. A salad would be good to serve with this also... this would also be a good side (except it makes a LOT) to a (healthy) meal. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this for my sister's baby shower ("Tot" casserole!) and it was a hit! It was all gone between only 7 people. I baked it in a stoneware dish for the full hour and it was just right. Next time I'm going to try adding ground beef or chilli and having it as a meal through the week...Not the healthiest, but it is really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was amazing my husband is sooo picky and hates everything including sour cream. HE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My family and I LOVED it, esp my kids! I used sharp cheddar instead and doubled it (doubling it is necessary). I also mixed in half the FF Onions with the mix before spreading it on top, then poured the rest on top of the whole mix (along with some garlic powder) to top it off. Last but not least, I diced up some onion and mixed it in as well. AMAZING! The leftovers are even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbrooksher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States