Tater Tot Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Perfect dish for a buffet and/or pot luck. The only change I made was to add 2 extra eggs. It is the type of recipe you could easily add seasonings/ingred. for your own tastes....but, to serve a group of people, it works great. As someone recommended I pre-baked the tater tots about 10 min. before putting them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
It's exactly as advertised, simple and satisfying! Gave it three stars because the cook time was so far off- mine took an additional 15-20 minutes with the temperature turned up to 375 to set up! Next time will add more eggs & some onion! I saved the sausage grease and made a pan of gravy while this baked and served on top- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was very popular in my house. We always have extra left and I've given that to other family members and they've all asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good recipe. I used 6 eggs and 3 cups of milk to give it more volume. Also used frozen hash browns instead of tater tots. I thought it needed salt so next time will add some to egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Overall it was good, there was too much milk so next time I will add two more eggs as some others suggested. Also I may add some onion and pepper to the egg/milk mixture for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very blah. I wish now I would have cut it in half so we wouldn't have had so many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a delicious, fast, and very simple recipe to make! It's fun to whip up on random mornings/early afternoons and give everyone a little treat! I replaced the pork with turkey bacon, used 4 eggs instead of 2 like everyone suggested, and was extremely liberal with the cheese (around 3-4 cups)! I've used both tater tots and crispy crowns and liked the tots better, not that it makes a huge difference. I've also reheated it in the oven and it was still great, didn't dry out at all! It's even good cold. It's too bad it's so bad for you, otherwise I'd be making it a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is pretty good, but could've used some seasoning or extra flavor. I do like how easy it is to make, and the minimal amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
4 eggs, 1 c. munster, 1 c. swiss & 1 c. evaporated milk (=1/2 c. evap + 1/2 c. water, in addition to 1 c. reguler whole milk) was what I had on hand when I made this the 2nd time, Plus, I added, as suggested, onions & mushrooms to the milk/egg mixture before pouring on. Came out quich-y, but REALLY yummy! (I might add ham next time.) I also precooked the Tots for 10 minutes, as per anothers' helpful suggestion :-) *I made this recipe as written the 1st time & it was really good, too, except for the mushy Tots. I'd use it again, if that's all I had on hand. For me, it turned out to be a great "base" recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
YUM! I made this for New Year's breakfast this morning & it was well recieved. I did add in 3 extra eggs, a pinch of chili powder, some black pepper and and extra cup of mozzarella cheese. Per other users suggestions, I baked this for an hour at 375 and it came out with the perfect crunchy top consistency that I was hoping for. Next time I might add in some mushrooms or some other type of veggie, just for some added texture and flavor but it is very good as written too. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States