Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a good "base" recipe. I used the Idahoan premium instant mashed potatoes and added my own seasonings: 1tsp McCormick Chicken Seasonings, 1/8 onion powder, 1/4 tsp Season All, 1/4 black pepper. Followed all other direction verbatim. Came out GREAT! My husband has always made better fried chicken. This recipe gives good competition to my husband's chicken and is sooooo much healthier! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I used garlic flavored potatoes. The whole family enjoyed this. It was tender and flavorful. The tater coating does get crisp, but not crunchy. It is a softer texture from what we are used to, but that is perhaps because I removed the skin of the chicken since I was slathering the bird with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very fast and easy but I definetly will season it more if I ever try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I just made this tonight and it's absolutely WONDERFUL!! I, like most others, added my own love to it. I cut the fattest part of the chicken leg skin off the back of the leg but left most on. I put cajun seasoning, paprika, garlic grill shaker, and salt and pepper directly into the melted butter. I poured the butter/seasoning mixture on the plate the chicken legs were already on. I let them soak a few minutes while spooning mixture over top of legs and tried to get butter to go under skin and in meat. I rolled the legs in potatoes trying to keep the largest part of leg slightly upright so the butter would stay within the leg. A tad more seasoning on the top, then baked for 30 min. in foil lined pan on a baking rack. I was going to turn legs but turning makes the flakes come off. So I put the legs back in without turning. The chicken was moist, crispy, and delicious!! Tastes like fried, but without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimgoodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rayne, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
my family loved this! i just have to cut down on the temp & time to make it more moist. my sons even said it smelled & tasted like church's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamafe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Tasty recipe. My cousin, such a finicky eater that I needed to abandon most of my recipes, ate 3 large legs! I'm giving this only a 3 as with butter the flakes didn't stick too well and it ended up crunchy in some parts and overly greasy in others. It also would have been a bit too bland had I not added salt and pepper to the flakes. I'm going to try this again someday with an egg instead and we'll see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
wow is the flavor good on these. I used one of those bags of potatoe flakes that you get for a buck each. It had great flavor so no need for salt. I did add parmesan cheese. I did think the temp was too high, so lowered it at the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
i followed the recipe as directed and my chicken legs were burnt! i had even cut the bake time by 10 min when i realized what had happened. what gives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myem1108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good and moist...whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I enjoyed this, but will not be making this again. Neither of my kids enjoyed it, they scraped off the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States