Tasty Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
After reading other reviews, I sliced my potatoes thinly and covered the baking dish with foil. That did the trick; the potatoes were very tender, but not mushy after only 45 mins. I also used golden raisins instead of regular raisins. A nice, simple and healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just had these for Thanksgiving. TO DIE FOR. All I added was a few chopped pecans. I did use much more than 1/2 cup orange juice but the outcome was perfect. The tang from the OJ and the sweet from the raisins entwined with the sweet potatoes is a heavenly experience. So much better than the syrupy, marshmallow, goup that is the norm. AND so much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I boiled the potatoes instead of baking them like other reviewers suggested and the texture was perfect. My husband and 1 year-old daughter LOVED this! I actually wasn't a big fan - it tasted too much like candy to me, so I added butter to my portion and it was fine. I made it with chicken tenders and it went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Pstross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Photo by apurekat
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I forgot to mention that I added a cinnamon blend to mine because I love the spices. Since there was no picture posted, I took a snapshot of my serving bowl before devouring the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is a very tasty, sweet potatoe recipe without using any sugar. I boiled the potatoes because some review said it took a long time to bake. I mashed them and added the orange juice and raisons and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
It wasn't all that great. I had to keep adding o.j. and I found out I don't really care for the cooked mushy raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
The flavors were great in this. And I was looking for a good sweet preperation for sweet potatoes without adding all of the marshmallow and brown sugar that make it more like dessert!! But like other reviewers said - the timing was wrong. I ended putting them in the mocrowave for about 5 min to try and get them done after the timing in the oven left them only half cooked. Once they were finished they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Just okay. A good healthy recipe, but too orangey for my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
instead of orange juice I cut up some oranges and added them. it took longer than 45 minutes, but came out great, especially with a little cinnamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I followed the directions, and checked the potatoes after 45 minutes. Well, the ones on bottom were somewhat tender, but the ones on top were still firm. So, I had to continually rotate them and even add more orange juice. This is slightly inconvenient, especially since the main dish was already done. They tasted okay, but not good enough to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States