Tasty Spicy Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Tried this last night. I modified to fit what I had on hand meaning I don't use instant rice. I only used 1/2 roasted red pepper, added 1 small zucchini diced. Did everything else according to instructions but threw it all in the rice cooker with the chicken stock to cook on its own. Was perfect with grilled salmon. Would go very well with shish kabobs or anything else really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was a nice side dish to our dinner of: 'Southwestern Egg Rolls' and 'Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce' both from AR. I did omit the mushrooms, due to personal taste, but kept everything else the same. My guys are huge rice eaters and they both really liked the dish. The next time I would like to try this with long grain rice as opposed to the instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was so excited to try this as the main picture looks delicious. This was pretty bland and boiling instant rice for 10 minutes turned the rice to mush. This was a let down and a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Simple with a slight buttery taste! I did not hae mushrooms but I did added zucchini's at the end. I had sautéed the zucchini's in a separate small pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved it! I used the crushed pepper flakes to taste b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy. Really nice flavor and super simple to make. I will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
On the surface it doesn't seem like this would be anything special...but it was. Not too boldly flavored, but not too plain or wimpy either. Just perfect in my mind (tho' I did use regular, long grain converted rice), and I loved the additions of the red pepper and mushrooms. Hubs called this "a work of art." And speaking of Hubs, in consideration of his sensitive innards, I left out the red pepper flakes. I doubt we could have enjoyed this more had I included it. An excellent choice paired with chicken, fish or other seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. A great alternative to plain rice. We added more mushrooms than recipe called for so reduced the amount of chicken stock. Didn't boil for 10 minutes as recipe described. Instead brought to a boil and then reduced to low heat for 10 minutes. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Deeeeeelicious! Eating it as I type. I used red onion because I had one huge yellow and three small red. The only thing I will change next time is less stock. I also added some fresh parsley from my garden for the pic. LOVE the mushrooms in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This rice recipe was a wonderful change from plain rice. I used my food processor to chop up the veggies so this was easy to prepare. I liked the flavor the chicken stock gave the rice and of course adding mushrooms always makes rice taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States