Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Either there was a serious misprint on this recipe, or I was naive enough to fall for a joke. This gives new meaning to "Thats-a spicey sauce!" Even though I kept the teaspoons of pepper very scant, the recipe ended up totally inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Ok, I got rid of the tomato sauce altogether and used double the tomato paste. I used 1 tablespoon of Italian Seasoning and 1 tablespoon of Oregano in place of all the other seasonings (too much spice otherwise). To give it more of a "rich" flavor I added one cup of red wine (Merlot, Cab, whatever you got). This removes a lot of the tomato-y (sp?) taste and gives the sauce a deep rich flavor and taste. The end result is a sauce that will go well on any pasta. No disrespect to the writer, I just put my .02 in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I learned this recipe long ago from my Best friend's mother who is Italian, it has exactly the same ingredients but as many of reviewers mentioned, my original recipe uses 1/3 of the spices. I have to add that this is one of my husband's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I hope you all read the reviews unlike me i didnt. Made a double recipe of this sauce and while its cooking now stupid me i read the reviews in any event ill add another can or 2 of tomato sauce + 1-2 more paste to hopefully skim down the spices else ive lost a bunch of time and money... lesson learned read the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
in reading the other reviews there seems an issue with the amount of pepper used. well... if you use that stuff from your supermarket that is already pre-ground you can put that much in and more because that stuff even fresh out of a new container is stale -lifeless with no real bite you MUST use fresh ground from you own ppr grinder you see pepper once ground loses it life shortly after being ground IF you use fresh grnd ppr then and only then can one speak to the issue of too much or too little ppr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Pretty good. Made as specified except cut down on all the spices by about 1/2, then adjusted at the end (also added 1 tsp or so of sugar at this point). This made a very thick sauce, needed a little more "sauce" in my opinion. Ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water or so before storing the leftover sauce. I would definitely make this again but would add some addt'l tomato sauce, water or wine to the sauce as it cooks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I just made this sauce for the first time. It is excellent. I followed the recipe to the letter, however was somewhat short on onion. The first person who rated this must have done something wrong as I have had no complaints what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very Very delicious! It's slightly spicy but nothing my 3 and 6 year old can't handle and they don't like spicy dishes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe was very quick! And very tasty! It can be made vegetarian too. I added an extra clove or two of garlic and a 1/4 cup of red wine. But use your best judgement on the amount of pepper and/or herbs added. I halved the amount and added more to taste. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Finally a spaghetti sauce my husband has no complaints about...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States