Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I learned this recipe long ago from my Best friend's mother who is Italian, it has exactly the same ingredients but as many of reviewers mentioned, my original recipe uses 1/3 of the spices. I have to add that this is one of my husband's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very tasty! But I definitely advise cutting all the spices in half, and use only 1 tsp. of pepper. I added mushrooms and black olives because I like my sauce chunky, and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Ok, I got rid of the tomato sauce altogether and used double the tomato paste. I used 1 tablespoon of Italian Seasoning and 1 tablespoon of Oregano in place of all the other seasonings (too much spice otherwise). To give it more of a "rich" flavor I added one cup of red wine (Merlot, Cab, whatever you got). This removes a lot of the tomato-y (sp?) taste and gives the sauce a deep rich flavor and taste. The end result is a sauce that will go well on any pasta. No disrespect to the writer, I just put my .02 in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I just made this sauce for the first time. It is excellent. I followed the recipe to the letter, however was somewhat short on onion. The first person who rated this must have done something wrong as I have had no complaints what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Finally a spaghetti sauce my husband has no complaints about...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I hope you all read the reviews unlike me i didnt. Made a double recipe of this sauce and while its cooking now stupid me i read the reviews in any event ill add another can or 2 of tomato sauce + 1-2 more paste to hopefully skim down the spices else ive lost a bunch of time and money... lesson learned read the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I'm glad I read the reviews before I made this. I also halved the spices, and the pepper I kept to 1 tsp. Otherwise this was a great recipe, and would probably work very well as the sauce for a meatball sub. I liked that it was fast, simple, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe would have been terrible if I would have put all the spices that it called for in. So I halved the spices and made it vegetarian to make it less expensive and it turned out fabulous. I made it for the whole office and all 12 people said it was the best sauce they ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe was very quick! And very tasty! It can be made vegetarian too. I added an extra clove or two of garlic and a 1/4 cup of red wine. But use your best judgement on the amount of pepper and/or herbs added. I halved the amount and added more to taste. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Either there was a serious misprint on this recipe, or I was naive enough to fall for a joke. This gives new meaning to "Thats-a spicey sauce!" Even though I kept the teaspoons of pepper very scant, the recipe ended up totally inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States