Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The recipe would make a good start for Ragu alla bolognese a specialty of Bologna. All you would need to add would be 1 stick of celery chopped;1 carrot chopped;1/2 cup red wine and 1/2 cup milk. 2 tbsp pancetta would enhance it if you have it. I would also substitute red pepper flakes to taste instead of the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Actually, this recipe should be given a BIG thumbs down.Even 1 star is too generous. The previous reviewers discussions about the herbs and spices are spot on. Lesson to be learned: Read the entire recipe before attempting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j-la

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Excellente recipe... but I would add to it some black pepper and mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
in reading the other reviews there seems an issue with the amount of pepper used. well... if you use that stuff from your supermarket that is already pre-ground you can put that much in and more because that stuff even fresh out of a new container is stale -lifeless with no real bite you MUST use fresh ground from you own ppr grinder you see pepper once ground loses it life shortly after being ground IF you use fresh grnd ppr then and only then can one speak to the issue of too much or too little ppr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a good sauce. I have a similar recipe that my dad got from an old Italain lady way back in the 50's. Note: Several reviewers ought to get their terminology corrected. There is ONLY one SPICE in this recipe - pepper. The others are HERBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc.chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is okay, but can be improved upon. You can also saute along with onions, celery, garlic, and parsley. Spice up your beef as you brown, add seasonings that you like,(seasonall,garlic powder, pepper, basil etc.) Also add wine to the sauce for a mellowed out flavor. You can also add mild baked italian sausage to simmer in the sauce for a great flavor for 2 to 3 hours. Then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yes it is good, but the name should be changed to Tasty Spicy Spaghetti Sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rawalpindi, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was definitely spicy --but not hot...so it'll satisfy anyone who likes a lot of zip without a lot of heat. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I used only 2 tsp of pepper instead of the 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Suttons Bay, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Yummmmmmmyyy. Pasta and sauce are so satisfying. This is an excellente recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States