Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Funny...lots of reviews saying how "unauthentically Italian" this recipe is. Does the title or the description of the recipe say "The Worlds Most Authentic Italian" spaghetti"? Unless I've gone completely blind, it makes no metion whatsoever regarding it being "authentically Italian" so lighten up and review the RECIPE, don't compare it to something it isn't even TRYING to be. It was a good base recipe, exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was just ok for me. I am 100% Italian, and the sauce I make is similar to this. Italians do not add ground beef to the sauce, usually pork or Italian sausage. I use two cans of tomato paste, one big(28oz) can of crushed tomatoes and one big (28oz) can of tomato puree. As for the herbs, the measurements were in the ballpark MINUS the rosemary and maybe 2tsp pepper. I eye all of my add-ins, so when I measured these last night, they seemed about right. This sauce was good if you dont have the time to throw meatballs together and have to get the kids fed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is very similar to my own spaghetti sauce recipe. I use only oregano and bay leaf, and add basil just before serving. Tip; add red wine to the meat/onion mixture and reduce for a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The title is correct, this is 'tasty'. Next time I'll probably use sweet italian sausage. As for the debate on whether it's 'authentic' Italian or not, who cares?! The title is tasty, not authentic and I think people need to see it as just another variation on a pasta sauce. I also, as another reviewer stated, like to simmer my sauce longer, so I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williams, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Back off on the pepper & add green pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Romberger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The only thing I can think of is that you people who said it was too spicy put in 3 TBS of pepper instead of 3 teaspoons. It's a great recipe in my humble opinion, although I prefer to simmer it longer than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob in Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Our family doesn't like spicy food but we found this recipe tasty. Followed everything except added some sugar (or honey/brown sugar) and added extra tomator sauce because I don't like spaghetti sauce too think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I loved the consistency of this sauce, however I felt there was just too much rosemary and thyme for my taste. I will make this again but I will decrease those two spices and maybe increase the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The individuals that said this recipe was inedible etc. are definitely not Italian, nor do they know Italian food. My mother-in-law (from Italy) passed a recipe similar to this on to me thirty years ago - and believe me it's as authentic as can be. If you don't want something to be very spicy, cut back on the spices - It's called adapting the recipe to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This sounds like my own recipe but the Italian Mother of my daughter's godfather helped me fine-tune it by adding just a shake of powdered cloves and about 2 shakes of cinnamon. My ex always said it was the best he'd ever tasted - even asked me to teach the recipe to his latest wife! No way, Jose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States