Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was okay with a few adjustments. I took the advice of others and decreased the spices. 1 t. salt, 1/4 t. pepper, 1/2 t. each of the thyme, basil, rosemary, and marjoram. Husband and kids liked it; would have been too spicy for us otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe, although I adjusted it a little. Instead of just using ground beef, I used half ground beef and half ground pork. Instead of dried thyme I used fresh and also added fresh oregano and did not crush the bay leaf but instead removed it before serving. Lastly, when I was browning the meat, I deglazed the pan with some red wine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe was easy,but the amounts of spices for the amount of meat was not good. There was way too much salt for only 1lb. of meat. I would suggest ctting way back on the amounts of salt and spices given. Start with half the amount of each,and then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Marjoram, rosemary and thyme? I want to taste tomatoes in my sauce. I'm sorry my daughter decided to try it and waste all those ingredients. She read the reviews and made suggested adjustments didn't save this sauce. We're sticking to our basic tomato/garlic/basil/red pepper flakes sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
tastes like a whole different sauce the next day. excellent the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineheh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Followed the recipe except used ground turkey instead of beef, but it was still excellent. I will always use this recipe for spaghetti sauce from now on... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I omitted the pepper, added a tablespoon of brown sugar and simmered on low in the crock pot for 8 hours. It was so easy, especially since you can brown the meat the night before. Sometimes I use boneless chicken instead of the ground beef. That's even simpler, no need to brown the chicken in the skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I've been looking for a sauce just like this. Of course, like all recipes, one tends to tweek to one's taste. I reduced the pepper just a wee bit. As for the first review, I've made hot wings where one person will say, TOO SPICY and another said it needed more. That's the point of reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I was out of tomato sauce & rosemary, so I substituted tomato soup + water to make 15 oz and used oregano instead of rosemary.........It was wondeful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The folks who cut down on the herbs & pepper must only use commerical/bottled sauce. This is a perfect recipe. I admit the hambuger is not authentic. I use pork or sausage as the Italians do. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States