Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very good! I didn't realy measure out the spices as written--I just put in amounts that made sense to me. I also left out the tomato paste, although I love a thicker sauce so I'm sure I would've liked it that way. I cooked off the liquid from the tomatoes before adding the sauce to the meat mixture. Very delicious, and quite quick and easy. I served over spaghetti and with garlic toast. A nice weeknight dinner; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I didn't have marjarom, but so far it tastes pretty good. It's still on the stove simmering right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe! I am vegetarian so just skipped the meat-cooking portion of the recipe. Instead, I cooked the onions & garlic in olive oil until the onions began to get soft, added the tomato paste & stirred for a few minutes. Then added about 1/3 cup of white wine to clean the bottom of the pan. After that, went back to recipe directions, added the rest of the ingredients PLUS I added mushrooms & black olives. Simmered for at least an hour, which made the house smell great! MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
this is a great recipe...but be careful. the canned tomatos and sauce are the LARGE cans....not the regular sizes. It's an easy detail to miss and i think it's what ruined the first reviewers effort. Follow the recipe and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This sauce is perfect! I usually put all the spices in a bowl together and add a portion at a time, I put about half in and tasted, it was good but I figured I should add the rest and it really made the sauce perfect. I don't know why people have a problem with the amount of spice, tastes good to me. If you like things simple add less of the spices I think it just depends on your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
without rosemary it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good sauce but I will change some things if I make again. I cut the spices in half which left a nice flavorful sauce, but something was too strong, maybe thyme or marjoram, will do less of each next time. I added tablespoon of sugar at the end, but may add 2 next time. I also added 1/2 cup wine. Was perfect consistency. Definitely not a sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this and used 1/2 the salt and pepper called for but the stated quantities for the other spices. I didn't have canned diced tomatoes so used a second can of tomato sauce. It was excellent. Will try next time with italian sausage and red pepper added and will definitely make again. The tomato paste gives it a nice, rich colour and the taste is a bit spicey but not overly so. Thanks Chizi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
You might be inclined to pass on this recipe after seeing thyme, rosemary, and marjoram in the ingrediants. After all, these are earthy, pungent ingrediants that have big flavors and may not sound appealing in a spaghetti sauce, especially if you're used to the typical garlic/basil/tomato fare. I confess that I probably would've passed this one by. Fortunately, my husband didn't. He found it and made the recipe exactly as written. And I'm so glad he did! It makes a bold and fragrant pasta sauce...that's very, very tasty indeed. Did I mention fragrant? I was surprised at the balance of flavors and how well they work together to make a big, hearty sauce. So make this one with an open mind. If you do and the flavor is not for you, then it's not for you. You didn't do anything wrong and neither did the person who wrote the recipe. I believe this one is written exactly as it should be. And don't tweak it to make it something it's not. This is not meant to be a typical middle of the road, Americanized sauce. If it's too strong for you, try to *proportionately* reduce the rosemary, thyme, marjoram and pepper and see if that helps. That said, this is one recipe where I think tweaking it misses the whole point. While this won't be our "go to" sauce for every day, it's definitely a keeper and one we'll use when we want something different and exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Too much thyme and way too much pepper. I might make this recipe again but I would def change the spices around. Sorry. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahottchicka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States