Tasty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is an excellent sauce. My husband is Turkish and dislikes the sauces from a jar that I will grab to make a fast meal. In Turkey they "cook by the season" so sauces are freshly made and prepared at home most of the time. The other day I got a great find at the farmer's market;a whole box of just past ripe tomatoes for only $3. They were at the point that they were juicy but would not be good in a salad or for slicing so I peeled, seeded and chopped what came to a full gallon bag of fresh tomatoes. I used two large onions, extra garlic, added some fresh oregano that the owner of the market threw in and a tbsp of thyme (my hubby's favorite herb). I also kept the tomato paste, but that was the only thing canned. At the end we added two pounds of lean ground beef. It fed us all and left two quarts for freezing the next time we have spaghetti. I will definitely be making this again and using canned tomatoes in a pinch, but I truly recommend using fresh tomatoes if you can. It is so worth the effort for the amazing flavor! (For this recipe I'd guess 6-8 tomatoes would do the trick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Amazing recipe! I added 1 sm can of rotel and used deer hamburger .. So wonderful!! You can never have too many spices with Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was a tasty sauce. I did follow GFELAN's post and eliminated the sauce and doubled the paste. I think next time I will keep the sauce. It was WAY to thick. I had to add quite a bit of water and it was still much thicker than jarred sauce. I also did 1TBSP ital. seasoning, and 1TBSP oregano. I also added a tablespoon or two of sugar, because the tomato flavor was very strong. I will make this again, with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I made it with ground chicken instead of beef... Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
this is my husbands rating, I thought is was at least a ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is my new sauce, I to added all the pepper the first time and ended up cutting it with some vinegar and sugar. The second time I made it only used 1 teaspoon which worked out for me, and still added sugar to my taste. Did not cut any other of the other spices down and the family loved it. Liked the idea of adding the red wine to it thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for a spaghetti dinner fundraiser and it was a hit! I made 200 plates and received many compliments. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I really liked this sauce. I didn't use all the pepper, just to taste. But I don't really like pepper so that was the only reason. I used all the other seasonings exactly how it was written and my whole family liked it. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksonfam6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Awesome! I substituted the ground beef with Italian sausage (bulk) and it turned out great! My family finished all I made during one meal! Very good 'base' recipe. There are lots of ways this can be modified for different flavor experiences! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I found the recipe quite tasty, spices were fine, per other reviews I use less fresh ground pepper. This is the second time I have made it. This time I had leftover wine I added and now will continue to do so.Just gave it the extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States