Tasty Roasted Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious! After cutting into 3/4" cubes, I tossed with olive oil, chopped rosemary, a little balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. Roasting at 425 took much longer than the 10-20 minutes from the recipe - more like 35. Not only delicious, the intense ruby red color makes it a beautiful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I love roasting beets when you can get the all the beautiful varieties at the farmer's market. I used some deep red and pretty golden yellow beets. I skipped the whole mixing bowl part and just used 2 sheets of heavy duty foil - keeping the different colored beets separate. I drizzled the olive oil, thyme, and salt right onto the beet wedges and then enclosed the beets into foil packets, placed on a baking sheet and popped them in the oven. I rated only 4 stars because of the method. I prefer to quarter the beets and roast them for longer (about an hour) instead of cubing them. This way after they cool you can slice them for salads or cube them if desired. Fantastic served with greens, goat cheese, toasted walnuts, and balsamic dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I read somewhere that you just had to scrub the beets and no peeling required. I did not want to turn on the oven so I cooked them on the grill in a tin roasting pan covered with foil for about 20 minutes. They got a little char on the bottoms but we ate them skin and all. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Instead of Thyme, I used grated orange peel. It was delicious. I hate having to handle the beets so I wore latex gloves. I can see myself roasting the beets with Winter squash or sweet potatoes. This is so earty and basic. I just ate them as the entire meal with some browned butter on top. You can do things like that when you live alone...no husband asking where is the meat? Just beets and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Easy, but really didn't like the thyme. I'll try again without next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Great flavor! Mine took longer, more like 30 minutes than 20, but tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I used this recipe on golden beets (minus thyme)and it was so good! and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
To quote Thoreau- "Simplify! Simplify!" It doesn't get much simpler than this. Tasty side dish or addition to a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I substituted dried basil instead of using thyme....the whole family loved it. Most members had never had beets aside from pickled beets, I believe I've converted them all this thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
My 2 1/2 yr. old loves these things! I was a little leery about using thyme after reading the reviews so I cut the amount in half and you couldn't even taste it,just gave a nice flavor to the beets. I also bake mine for 30 min. in a 400 degree oven so my fire alarm doesn't go off:)Just a note: make sure you allow one large beet or two small ones per person or you won't have enough. They usually reduce about a quarter to a third in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States