Tasty Roasted Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
To quote Thoreau- "Simplify! Simplify!" It doesn't get much simpler than this. Tasty side dish or addition to a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I used this recipe on golden beets (minus thyme)and it was so good! and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I love roasting beets when you can get the all the beautiful varieties at the farmer's market. I used some deep red and pretty golden yellow beets. I skipped the whole mixing bowl part and just used 2 sheets of heavy duty foil - keeping the different colored beets separate. I drizzled the olive oil, thyme, and salt right onto the beet wedges and then enclosed the beets into foil packets, placed on a baking sheet and popped them in the oven. I rated only 4 stars because of the method. I prefer to quarter the beets and roast them for longer (about an hour) instead of cubing them. This way after they cool you can slice them for salads or cube them if desired. Fantastic served with greens, goat cheese, toasted walnuts, and balsamic dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Great flavor! Mine took longer, more like 30 minutes than 20, but tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I read somewhere that you just had to scrub the beets and no peeling required. I did not want to turn on the oven so I cooked them on the grill in a tin roasting pan covered with foil for about 20 minutes. They got a little char on the bottoms but we ate them skin and all. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious! After cutting into 3/4" cubes, I tossed with olive oil, chopped rosemary, a little balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. Roasting at 425 took much longer than the 10-20 minutes from the recipe - more like 35. Not only delicious, the intense ruby red color makes it a beautiful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Easy, but really didn't like the thyme. I'll try again without next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I substituted dried basil instead of using thyme....the whole family loved it. Most members had never had beets aside from pickled beets, I believe I've converted them all this thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
tried tonight loved the taste but they were not cooked still tough after the allowed time. I would pre cook in water before I put them into the oven .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States