Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was so good. I made fajitas instead of tacos because that is what I prefer, but other than that I followed the recipe and can attest that it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Easy healthy recipe. I try to stay away from dairy and this still tastes good without adding cheese or sour cream (I add lettuce and guacamole). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious! I added the salsa in the last few minutes of cook time, and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We are not vegetarian by any means, but even the kids agreed this is a pretty good taco! Another good meatless meal choice. BTW...red lentils are the quickest to cook. I used 1 c. of lentils instead of the 2/3 c. and used 2 c. of chicken stock and it came out perfect. And the lentils completely cooked in 15 minutes! Also, red lentils tend to disintegrate when cooked so they're perfect for this recipe since you don't have to mash them! If you use green lentils you can count on doubling the stated cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent taco filling. I suggest this to anyone who is learning to replace meaty meals with tasty meatless options either for health or to save money...this is not only tasty but extremely cheap to make, and lentils are a good source of fiber and protein too! I added organic frozen corn kernels and some black beans to the filling as well. Just be sure to check your package of lentils: mine called for 40 minutes of covered simmer time. I checked them at 30 minutes and they were still a tad hard so let them go the extra time. I don't think I'll ever make tacos with ground meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Really good! My salsa was a bit runny so I had to let it simmer off a bit longer to thicken it. I also substituted vegetable broth for chicken to make it vegetarian-friendly. This was a nice alternative to the Vegan Bean Taco Filling from this site (also amazing) that I normally use for taco night. Thank you for sharing, MK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Sooooo amazingly good! No more fake veggie meat for me. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This recipe was so delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RSharpe701
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was a very good base recipe for me. I made it exactly like the recipe the first time and it was very good, however; my lentils were a bit crunchy despite cooking for almost an hour. The reason was that if you add too much salt to lentils while they are cooking, they won't soften. Next time I make these I will cook the lentils first using a low-sodium or no sodium added broth first until they're tender and then add my other ingredients. Aside from that minor change, they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Surprisingly delicious! Made my own taco seasoning, and added almost 2 tbs worth of it, but really, I was pleasantly surprised! My taco meat loving husband even approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States