Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is so much better than it has any right to be, and has quickly become one of my favorite recipes! It's very friendly to dietary restrictions and easily becomes vegan. Be sure to stir in the salsa with the lentils at the end... it has a significant impact on the overall flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great use of lentils. Didn't change a thing. Turned out great. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We really enjoyed this dish. I used Taco Seasoning I (AR). Easy and yummy served this with Easy Authentic Spanish Rice (AR). My lentils took about 40 minutes before they softened up. Even my kids and hubby really enjoyed these. Great for a "Meatless Monday" dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I love lentils, and this was a good way to use them. I added chopped veggies like green peppers, zucchini, and cauliflower, some corn and a can of green chilies. I froze servings in a muffin pan and popped them out in a freezer bag to have for later. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Who thought in a million years that I could turn my meat loving husband into a now HUGE lentil taco lover!? Oh my did he ever love this. I'd made it before so I already knew it was amazing and was so anxious for him to try it. My only change was making my own taco seasoning to help cut down on the salt. I feel so good serving this to my family and especially to my daughter who is seven month pregnant. Nothing healthier than legumes! Thank you so very much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Great texture. That is normally the hang up with me and my family. The taste can be amazing but if we don't like the texture I won't make it again. My youngest son, the pickiest, thought this mimicked ground beef exactly. My husband, the omnivore, thought it was good...drowning in condiments. I served these as nachos instead of tacos. Made pico de gallo and guacamole to go with it and we scarfed this down! I cooked my lentils down with brown rice and I think that was a good choice for us. 3/4 cup lentils 3/4 cup brown rice 4 cups 'beef' broth. I will most certainly be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I wanted to like this more than I did, but it could have just been expectations vs reality so no real points off for that one. My reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was extremely watery! I followed the directions exactly and even after letting it simmer uncovered it was still more like a stew/chili than a taco. I ate it that way anyways and then strained the rest in a colander, which resulted in a much better consistency. I'll probably reduce the broth next time by 1/3 cup and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
With the exception of having older lentils which required more cooking time, this turned out extremely well! I, too, used homemade taco seasoning and veggie broth for our Meatless Monday dinner. Since I was serving this to our 5 year-old DD, I used an organic mild salsa from Muir Glen to taste. Meat-loving hubby enjoyed this too, and we both thought the lentils would also make a yummy filling for bean quesadillas as well. Used soft taco shells (personal preference), quesadilla queso (what I had on hand), shredded lettuce, guacamole (and a little extra hot salsa for me & the hubby), these were delicious, nutritious, and a cinch to get on the table. Will 100% make again and will happily recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
we used lettuce leaves for shells, and subbed vegan broth, and daiya shredded cheese, and vegan sour cream. I also used red bell peppers in place of half of the onions. We topped it with raw bell pepper, tomato, cilantro, red onion, and cucumbers. It was delicious! We didn't have any salsa, so I didn't add that in, but the end result was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
With my changes this is 5 stars. 25/30 minutes was not long enough for the lentils to be softened. I cooked the lentils for 30 minutes and they were still incredibly. I had to cook my lentils for at least 45-50 minutes and even then I could've cooked them longer but I was too hungry to wait any longer! Because I had to cook my lentils longer I added more water and sprinkled in more taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States