Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe...will definitely be making these again and again. My brother was surprised and didn't believe me; when I told him it was made with lentils and not meat...thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
With the exception of having older lentils which required more cooking time, this turned out extremely well! I, too, used homemade taco seasoning and veggie broth for our Meatless Monday dinner. Since I was serving this to our 5 year-old DD, I used an organic mild salsa from Muir Glen to taste. Meat-loving hubby enjoyed this too, and we both thought the lentils would also make a yummy filling for bean quesadillas as well. Used soft taco shells (personal preference), quesadilla queso (what I had on hand), shredded lettuce, guacamole (and a little extra hot salsa for me & the hubby), these were delicious, nutritious, and a cinch to get on the table. Will 100% make again and will happily recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I saw this recipe on the Buzz and then a friend made it & posted "faux toes" so I just had to try it. I'm looking for meals that require less meat trying to reduce our fat etc. I wasn't sure how I would like this and I certainly hid what I was doing for the meat & potatoes men I was serving lunch to. Well, I LOVED it. I didn't tweak it until it came to the men's, I added some taco meat to theirs. Alas, there is only so much I can spring on them at one time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Great texture. That is normally the hang up with me and my family. The taste can be amazing but if we don't like the texture I won't make it again. My youngest son, the pickiest, thought this mimicked ground beef exactly. My husband, the omnivore, thought it was good...drowning in condiments. I served these as nachos instead of tacos. Made pico de gallo and guacamole to go with it and we scarfed this down! I cooked my lentils down with brown rice and I think that was a good choice for us. 3/4 cup lentils 3/4 cup brown rice 4 cups 'beef' broth. I will most certainly be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used veggie broth for a vegetarian friend and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I used my own taco seasoning, rather than packaged, and I used about half beef broth and half chicken broth. I did have to add some additional water as the lentils cooked. I omitted the salsa and served it on the side. These were so delicious, my family asked to have them again the next night! I might use vegetable broth next time for a vegetarian version. I will also increase the ingredient amounts by about 50%, since we often have teenage boys here with large appetites, and the original recipe wasn't quite enough for the 4 of us, two being teenage boys. What a keeper! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is easy to make and tastes good. I had it as is and loved it. I was afraid my husband and son would not eat it without meat so I threw a pound of ground turkey into a double batch. I fooled my husband who thinks he hates lentils. He said they were really good. Of course he still doesn't know he had lentils. Our son took one bite and then refused anymore but he thought it was the turkey meat that made them tast "funny". Next time I'm doing it with no meat. I think this would be great for enchiladas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Good, but salty. I suggest skipping the broth because the taco seasoning has plenty of salt. I added a squeeze of lime, hot sauce, and put avocado in the shells. Didn't wow, but is a nice change from the black bean tacos I normally make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Super recipe. I've made this twice, double batches at that, and we love it. We put quinoa on the taco along with cheese, fresh spinach, and salsa. It is also good on soft tortillas rolled up and cooked in the George Foreman. P.S. I let the lentils cook a bit longer and used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
We love these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States