Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My Midwestern beef loving husband will gladly eat these! They're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinderella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is surprisingly great! I've now made it twice and it's a great addition to my meatless meals. I usually top it with some avocados/ guacamole. Yum! I use a pressure cooker as I live at high altitude and the consistency turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This recipe is awesome!!! I've been trying to go veggie whenever possible and this is the best veggie taco recipe I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
As someone said already, this has NO BUSINESS being as freakin tasty as it is. I didn't change much except using veggie stock (to keep it vegetarian) and I forgot to mash the lentils a little. I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Absolutely love this; the lentils make an inexpensive and substantial substitute for the beef in a traditional taco. The only thing I changed was adding cheddar after serving it. I can see where cilantro might be a good addition (as other reviewers have suggested), though we haven't tried it. This meal has become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
The lentils took much longer to cook and I had to add more water. My husband really like them, I thought they were just ok. Did add the salsa as they were cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Easy make-ahead meal. Made tostadas. Layered fried corn taco shells, cheese and lentils, baked till melty! Soooo delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I loved this!!! So much better than I expected. I've been basically vegan for a while now (not strict)so making dinners my kids like too can be challenging. They still want meat and I'm fine with that as they are growing boys. Lately when I've made tacos I'd use ground turkey but then I would just use refried beans in mine and avoid the taco meat altogether. Tonight dinner was amazing! So much better, fresher, tasting than any meat. Boys both scowled when they saw the replacement but after a few bites admitted that it wasn't bad at all. High praise around here. I couldn't stop eating it. I made it exactly as directed. I used the same Garden of Eaten taco kit I get in the organic section at Kroger and just used 1 TBS of the seasoning from the box. It felt a little wasteful when I could have made the seasoning from scratch but Garden of Eaten only sells kits and I'm not going back to cheap taco shells with all the addtional additives in them. I used the Kroger Simple Truth mild salsa and 2 (1cup cartons of chicken broth - will try veg broth next time but wanted to ease kids in slowly. lol ). The lentils were still a tad crunchy at 30 min but the liquid was gone. They mashed up fine and you don't even notice the bite to the beans since the shells are crunchy too. There is only a little left over from making 12 shells and I'm looking forward to lunch tomorrow. Thanks MK! Will have to check out your other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is truly incredible!! I thought it seemed so simple that it was too good to be true, but it was fabulous and flavorful exactly as is. Thank you so very much for a wonderful dish. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this a few times, and it's super delicious! I substituted vegetable broth to make it vegan, and had to reduce the amount to one cup instead of 1 2/3, because it was too watery the first time. I also added about half a cup of taco seasoning because I love it so much. Because I dislike onions I substituted onion powder. It was simply amazing. I fed it to taco-loving meat-eaters and they thought it was better than the real thing! The salsa really adds to it if you pick one you like, I always use southwestern style salsa. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States