Tasty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I used low sodium soy sauce but it was still too salty for the kids. I think over steamed rice it would have balanced better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Good recipe. It's very salty if you use all of the soy sauce, so I would use a third of what the recipe calls for. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was not our favorite but was OK. I don't think I will make this again but if I do I will use only 1/4 cup of lite soy and low sodium beef bouillon adding no additional salt but lots of cracked black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Too salty and cook time was too long for skinny green beans. I should of stopped cooking sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
After adjusting the amount of soy sauce and making a few changes due to time and personal preference, this recipe is 4 and half stars easily. Like many other cooks suggested, I cut way back on the amount of soy sauce. First off I just threw everything in a crock pot to save time. I also added a couple of beef neck bones and sliced mushrooms to the mix. Instead of beef bullion I added what was left of some all-natural beef stock and topped off with water. The neck bones completed the 'broth' for me. I cut the soy sauce down to 1/4 cup and used a low sodium version. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, a few Tbsp. of olive oil (in place of margarine) and lots of fresh cracked black pepper. Cooked everyone on low all day and the beans came out great. I usually cut the sodium back in crock pot veggies b/c I always seem to have difficulty with getting the perfect amount esp. since you have to add liquid. Everyone loved them, and they made the whole house smell great. I imagine you could make these with a beefy onion soup mix as well in place of the bullion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Like Lucy says: 'It's so tasty!' hehe! This was good and I did like the taste. I just used a different sauce other than soy because it is so salty but maybe next time I will try soy. Made it with a chicken pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Loved the blend of flavors. Low sodium soy sauce is an option if it seems too salty. I nice twist to the traditional bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was good. I don't know if it was amazing though. It was a bit salty and I am not super fond of the taste of boiled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! Don't change a thing. Goes well with beef tenderloin with roasted shallots, and almond wild rice. Nice recipe. Perfect dinner. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delano, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Cooking time was too long for my tates - would've taken them off earlier were I not distracted by other pending disasters. I omitted the boullion simply because I didn't have any on hand and thought they were a little salty, but not too bad. I mean, the sauce is basically soy sauce and butter, both of which can be quite salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States