Tasty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I used low sodium soy sauce but it was still too salty for the kids. I think over steamed rice it would have balanced better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Good recipe. It's very salty if you use all of the soy sauce, so I would use a third of what the recipe calls for. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was not our favorite but was OK. I don't think I will make this again but if I do I will use only 1/4 cup of lite soy and low sodium beef bouillon adding no additional salt but lots of cracked black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Too salty and cook time was too long for skinny green beans. I should of stopped cooking sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
After adjusting the amount of soy sauce and making a few changes due to time and personal preference, this recipe is 4 and half stars easily. Like many other cooks suggested, I cut way back on the amount of soy sauce. First off I just threw everything in a crock pot to save time. I also added a couple of beef neck bones and sliced mushrooms to the mix. Instead of beef bullion I added what was left of some all-natural beef stock and topped off with water. The neck bones completed the 'broth' for me. I cut the soy sauce down to 1/4 cup and used a low sodium version. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, a few Tbsp. of olive oil (in place of margarine) and lots of fresh cracked black pepper. Cooked everyone on low all day and the beans came out great. I usually cut the sodium back in crock pot veggies b/c I always seem to have difficulty with getting the perfect amount esp. since you have to add liquid. Everyone loved them, and they made the whole house smell great. I imagine you could make these with a beefy onion soup mix as well in place of the bullion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Like Lucy says: 'It's so tasty!' hehe! This was good and I did like the taste. I just used a different sauce other than soy because it is so salty but maybe next time I will try soy. Made it with a chicken pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Loved the blend of flavors. Low sodium soy sauce is an option if it seems too salty. I nice twist to the traditional bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was good. I don't know if it was amazing though. It was a bit salty and I am not super fond of the taste of boiled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! Don't change a thing. Goes well with beef tenderloin with roasted shallots, and almond wild rice. Nice recipe. Perfect dinner. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delano, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Cooking time was too long for my tates - would've taken them off earlier were I not distracted by other pending disasters. I omitted the boullion simply because I didn't have any on hand and thought they were a little salty, but not too bad. I mean, the sauce is basically soy sauce and butter, both of which can be quite salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States