Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is almost exactly how I make my green bean casserole, except I add a few slices of bacon crumbled up and no wine. I did make this though at it was pretty darn good. I still like adding bacon and green pepper though. It is different from the old standby green bean casserole and that is what caught my attention. However I think I will stick to my version. It is not as healthy as this one b/c of the bacon but oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is wonderful! Very good change to a traditional recipe. I left out the red pepper (didn't have any) and added a bit more mozzerella cheese. It was nice and stringy and creamy. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
What an incredible twist to an old favorite. I made this for Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter and it was the first thing gone - everyone loved it! I followed the recipe and used only the ingredients listed, and it's perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is THE BEST green bean casserole I have ever tasted. I get compliments every time I make this. You will NOT be disappointed and I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katharine Thayer Kane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very interesting twist on a old favorite, a more grown up version! This was a litlle more involved than the standard (open and dump), but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Loved this! I don't usually care for green bean casserole, but this was great! I didn't use bacon (though it would probably be good w/), and I added a bit of Tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I was going to rate this 2 stars, but some people ate it. I made this for the first time on Easter. I'm glad I warned everybody that I was experimenting with a new recipe! It says to put the fried onions on before putting it in the oven. I put them on after it had been in for 15 minutes and I'm glad I did. After 10 minutes,they were very dark. Besides this, I made it as the recipe reads. I found it bland and I agree with others that the cheese was unnecessary. At the end of dinner, I noted that guests had eaten everything on their plate EXCEPT for the green beans. Nobody wanted to take any of the leftovers home. That told me all I needed to know. Will go beck to the traditional dish next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made this for Christmas eve dinner to go with a honeybaked ham..it was delicious just the way the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I found the flavor too complex; the ingredients argued with each other. In addition, the dish was a bit too unattractive for a special-occasion table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiefire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Made this with a few modifications for xmas dinner and everyone really enjoyed it. I omitted the bacon and cheese, added sliced fresh mushrooms, water chesnuts and substituted chow mein noodles for the French fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States