Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great recipe to give you a nice variation on green bean casserole while making it still recognizable. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and my laziness tonight. Used two cans of cut green beans, a bag of real bacon bits, dehydrated chopped onion, jarred roasted red peppers, worchester in place of soy sauce and two triangles of laughing cow instead of mozzarella, . Skipped all the stove top cooking since I didn't need to cook bacon and onions and just threw it all together in the oven. Came out very good and I will probably make again. Next time I'll use real bacon and onions as those are the perfect compliments to green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been using this recipe for green bean casserole for a few years now and to this day, we still love it as much as we did the first time I made it. All of the ingredients in this version work so deliciously together it should almost be against the law to make it any other way. It's a 'must have' at every holiday dinner I cook...Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, birthdays, anniversary. Everyone loves it. Bravo Andyknepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful variation on the traditional string bean casserole. I will be making this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it. I am now in charge of green bean casserole for Thanksgiving :) I subbed out the canned soup with CREAM SOUP BASE FOR CASSEROLES(fat-free) Worked out fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was amazing! My daughter and I don't really like green bean casserole but this was great. I changed it up a bit because I didn't have all the ingredients,like instead of mozzerella i used shredded cheddar and no peppers and no white wine . It was amazing ...Everyone ate it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Worth the extra work, SO much better than the traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Here are my changes to the recipe: I left out the bacon and mozzarella cheese. I also included 1.5 cans of the cream of mushroom soup instead of 1. Overall, I liked this recipe. I am sure it would have been fine with the bacon and cheese; I just wanted to reduce the cost and caloric intake. I was hoping the thawed french cut style beans that I had used would have been a bit more tender. (At the time, I didn't want to use canned beans.) That's the only reason for giving this recipe a 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great Recipe. My mom even said it was better than her own. I added 3 chopped portabellas and cut the soy in 1/2. This will be the new holiday favorite. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
did not add bell pepper, but amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
SO GOOD! Always a huge hit, the red pepper is a great pop of color and flavor to this traditional dish. The white wine is also a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States