Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe a little over a year ago because I was tired of the same old green bean casserole. I was not for sure how the family would take it, but dinner was at my house. Ever since ANY time we have a dinner get together holiday or not, this is what I'm asked to bring. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
While this is an improvement over the basic Green Bean Casserole included on most product packages, I still wouldn't call this great. It has some great flavors like the white wine, onion, and just a touch of soy sauce, but the bacon is overpowering I think. I find the cheese an odd addition and although I LOVE cheese, it just didn't go with these flavors and only added to the weird slimy texture. Mainly though, I just don't care for the canned soup flavor and slimy texture. Although it takes so much more time, I will keep making my green bean casserole from scratch by cooking down fresh mushrooms and making a rue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!! I made these beans last night and did not change a thing. Everyone in the family LOVED this version of green bean casserole. I definitely will be making this again. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe except used 2 cans (14.5oz each) of cut green beans (1 can did not look like enough); ommitted alcohol (could not find either). Just AWESOME. Will be making again soon. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Excellent! I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
If your family is expecting traditional green bean casserole this is not the dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
YUMMY!!! The BEST Green Bean Casserole I have ever made and tasted! Tastes like the original but better. A few things...I was chopping celery for stuffing and was multi-tasking and accidently put 1/2 cup in this mixture. I don't know if it changed the flavor but it didn't make it bad. And, I live in a small town with only one grocery store. I waited to the last minute to shop and they were out of plain Cream of Mushroom soup so I used Cream of Mushroom with Garlic...yum. (BTW, the red pepper is an interesting twist.) My husband does not like green beans that much but gobbled this up!! Will definately make this again. A new holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely the BEST green bean casserole I've ever made for Thanksgiving. I only added minced fresh garlic to the onions and peppers but kept the rest exactly as it is here. I would like it not to be so high on sodium since I do have high blood pressure but hey...once a year...that's what BP meds are for, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
If you don't like green bean casserole and were hoping you could make this and finally enjoy it -- YOU WON'T. It isn't much different from the original -- which I hate -- and if you don't like the original you won't enjoy this either. I made it because my father-in-law likes green bean casserole and I hoped we could make this part of our yearly spread. I noticed he didn't touch much of it and didn't request any for his leftover package. We tossed 3/4 of a casserole dish full of this stuff. A real waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I would give this one a 10 star if I could. Everyone loved this recipe. The only difference I did, since I have to cut down on salt, was omitted the soy sauce and I didn't even add the salt and pepper to taste. I would have put the pepper in, just forgot. It tasted just fine. Soups tend to have a lot of salt in them anyway. Plus, I accidentally put in 1 cup of mozzarella instead of 1/2 cup. My Mom took home the recipe :) Another thing I did was buy a jar of real bacon bits. I cooked the onion and (whole) red bell pepper and put 4 Tble of the bacon bits in the butter. Yummy! This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoaringDove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States