Tasty Fried Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
We just got done eating these for dinner & could not wait to get online & review these...YUMMY! I had an eggplant I did not know what to do with & it was getting old. Came online & looked up recipes last night & found this - I had all the ingredients already so it was perfect. I did the advance work last night & then put it in the fridge. Rolled them & cooked them tonight. My husband is out late so he didn't get to try them but my 22 month old twins LOVED them, and the big surprise was my son who normally will not allow a veggie to pass his lips! Some things I changed - I used fresh wholewheat breadcrumbs I ground in my food processor - I used about 5 slices. I needed more egg in the dipping procedure & I also added more cheese than it called for - I am going to guess I added almost 3/4 cup. This made them perfect. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Wonderful! I had to add a bit more bread crumbs to make the texture stiffer, but I may not have drained the eggplant thoroughly. Drain the egplant REALLY well and you might not have to add the extra. Very tasy way to use eggplant thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe truely deseves ***** stars. It is simple enough for beginners and pro cooks. I made this reipe and my family loved it. I added more cheese and breadcrumbs for an firmer mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Aesome! We loved it. I may add more cheese next time. Went great with ranch dressing dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent! The batter smelled great and they tasted just as great. I served them to my boyfriends family and everyone loved them. It was easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
have to admit, these were very good. i love trying different recipes using eggplant, and yours was definitely worth making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was a win/lose situation. I liked it, my husband didn't... I thought this was the only recipe I've tried to make eggplant tasty. My husband thought it tasted like rotten meat balls. I also Hate frying with bread crumbs, I think really well smashed saltines (+ flour, etc.) work better. I wouldn't recommend or not recommend this, I'd say try it with an open mind or don;t try it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I've made these several times and they are always a hit. My family now requests them for special occasions (ex: this Thanksgiving). They are a bit messy and a little time consuming, but they are definitely worth it. As we are big cheese fans, I almost double the shredded cheese in the mixture to make them gooyier to bite into. A great vegetarian appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These were easy and tasty, but should come with a warning! People won't stop requesting them for every event, dinner, office etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I added some parmessan, asiago, and feta to make sure they were tasty enough and although, they were a bit messy to make (and kind of a long process. I recommend having an assistant)the rave reviews were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States