Tasty Fried Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marathonmama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I thought these were yummy! I pureed the eggplant after it was cooked, skipped the green peppers because I was out of them, used more cheese- about 3/4 cup, doubled the eggs (both for in the balls and in the dipping process- 4 total), and used whole wheat bread crumbs. I did need more bread crumbs for the dipping (about double). My toddlers thought these were chicken nuggets and dipped them in ketchup- which tasted good to me too. next time I will try them with the green pepper or double the paprika. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe but after I fried the eggplant balls I drained them well on paper towels. I then put jared pasta sauce in a shallow baking dish and added the eggplant balls top with shredded cheese of your choice and bake at 375 for 30 min. Serve with whole grain pasta. Sooooooo Goooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
We just got done eating these for dinner & could not wait to get online & review these...YUMMY! I had an eggplant I did not know what to do with & it was getting old. Came online & looked up recipes last night & found this - I had all the ingredients already so it was perfect. I did the advance work last night & then put it in the fridge. Rolled them & cooked them tonight. My husband is out late so he didn't get to try them but my 22 month old twins LOVED them, and the big surprise was my son who normally will not allow a veggie to pass his lips! Some things I changed - I used fresh wholewheat breadcrumbs I ground in my food processor - I used about 5 slices. I needed more egg in the dipping procedure & I also added more cheese than it called for - I am going to guess I added almost 3/4 cup. This made them perfect. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were amazing! I fed them to a picky guest who claims to be a carnivore and he took seconds. Great recipe, I didn't change anything except I needed more egg and breadcrumbs for dipping than the recipe calls for. I would also increase the paprika next time, but overall, they were great and I will make eggplant a regular on my grocery list! Thanks for the great recipe! Just a thought- if you substantially change a recipe (like baking instead of frying and not using the egg coating) it doesn't make sense to give the original recipe a bad review based on your own alterations, especially when the majority of the reviews for the original are positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
the idea i think is good but first of all the eggplant taste gets lost in the pepper, onion and bread crumbs. Second boiling the eggplant puts way too much water into this recipe. The second time i made these i broiled the eggplant and seasoned it lightly with garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper and i put it in the food processor with ~1 cup bread crumbs. then i made the balls and just rolled them in flour (no egg or crumbs on the outside). i baked them to reduce the calories and i thought they were delicious with some marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Wonderful! I had to add a bit more bread crumbs to make the texture stiffer, but I may not have drained the eggplant thoroughly. Drain the egplant REALLY well and you might not have to add the extra. Very tasy way to use eggplant thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe truely deseves ***** stars. It is simple enough for beginners and pro cooks. I made this reipe and my family loved it. I added more cheese and breadcrumbs for an firmer mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent! The batter smelled great and they tasted just as great. I served them to my boyfriends family and everyone loved them. It was easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I had 4 eggplants one of the doctors at work had given me and had to find a way to use them. The hubbs isn't a fan of eggplant parmesan and I wanted something different than I've been preparing them. The only thing I didn't put in was the bell pepper because hubby doesn't care for it. I added a little onion and garlic powder to the mix and instead of just bread crumbs also added some crushed ritz crackers to give it a buttery flavor. They turned out great! I actually served them with curried coconut chicken and rice and they went together very well. The sauce from the chicken was very tasty with the eggplant balls. I made a quadruple batch of mix and froze a couple of bowls of it to use as a quick side dish or appetizer later. Thanks for the awesome recipe! Love the creative way of utilizing a veggie that can be difficult to work with. Will definitely keep this one handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I am rating this purely on taste, because I didn't quite follow the directions. I tried making patties out of them, and instead of breading and frying, I baked them. They were way too soggy for that to work and they fell totally apart. However, they tasted really good! Next time I will try adding the flour to the mix before trying to bake them. I'd still rather have them in patties and baked rather than fried, and they did taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States