Tasty Fried Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Initially I was really excited about this recipe. Though during the long tedious time it took to make this I was unentusiastic. However after getting to enjoy these they were very good and even my eggplant disliking partner couldn't tell there was any eggplant in this. To make this recipe I had to use 5 eggs total! In order to coat all the balls in egg batter. I also added more cheese about 1 cup total. I also had to use more flour and crumbs but it did make alot of these. So much I will have to save for later! Very filling and rich tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Loved it. Eggplant is my favorite veggie, and it is sometimes difficult to make. This is easy and tasty, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was a miss. I dont like eggplant to begin with but always get suckered into taking some from my dads garden. No one in my family liked this. guess I'll keep looking for a better way to make this odd vegetable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was pretty good. I made it along with Carrot Rice (also on here) tonight, and was really happy with the result. The only thing I did differently than the recipe stated was I tossed the eggplant in a little oil and Old Bay seasoning and roasted it for about 30 minutes rather than simmering it before chopping. I think that brought a lot of flavor, with absolutely no extra work. Other than that, the only thing I'd do differently next time is reduce the amount of green pepper and increase the onion, and chop both a bit finer. I think that a medium-to-small dice would be perfect, both to help the overall texture and to show off the eggplant more. Like the earlier commenter, I skipped the extra eggwash/breading step, and just dredged the mixture in breadcrumbs by itself, and they stuck perfectly. Baked in burger patty form in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes resulted in a really tasty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I don't love eggplant but I given two and decided to try this recipe. It was really easy I left mine overnight to firm up added parmesan instead of cheddar and I bake them at 350 for a half hour. They would make great finger food at a party with dip on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondbuns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thamesford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Good Recipe. Suggestion-Stuff with cooked/seasoned ground hamburger meat. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I thought the balls were too mushy and greasy. I'm not sure if it was the cheese or the grease. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were delicious! My three year old and I ate them up, and he actually requested that I make more the next day! I did noticed that, had I added a little extra salt (I scrimped this time, so it wasn't quite "there", but it was my fault) and a little bit of seafood seasoning, they would have tasted just like crab cakes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marathonmama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I thought these were yummy! I pureed the eggplant after it was cooked, skipped the green peppers because I was out of them, used more cheese- about 3/4 cup, doubled the eggs (both for in the balls and in the dipping process- 4 total), and used whole wheat bread crumbs. I did need more bread crumbs for the dipping (about double). My toddlers thought these were chicken nuggets and dipped them in ketchup- which tasted good to me too. next time I will try them with the green pepper or double the paprika. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Well, the dogs enjoyed them. I think the eggplant needs to drain longer. I ended up adding more bread crumbs and whatever taste and texture was in the original recipe must have been diluted. Not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States