Tasty Fried Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These were great! I made them as directed and came out delicious. This is something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
GOOD WAY TO USE UP EGGPLANT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I tried the recipe but the mixture came out too mushy and it was hard to manage into little balls to roll in flour without them coming apart. I'm hoping they freeze well for later. They taste great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Great sounding idea, but this recipe needs work. I read all the reviews that suggested tweaks, but decided to follow the straight recipe except I had to use red bell pepper instead of green. The eggplant was "shloopy" after boiling it for 15 minutes, so after draining in a colander, I dumped it onto paper towels and patted it dry before combining with the other ingredients. I left it in a covered bowl overnight hoping it would firm up in the fridge. It did not. I should have realized that unseasoned flour and unseasoned bread crumbs would not make for a tasty coating, but didn't until I popped the first piping hot eggplant ball into my mouth. Needs more oomph. It was pleasantly crunchy on the outside and gooey in the center, a "feature" my children immediately rejected. I liked the consistency but couldn't get past the blandness. If I weren't doomed to eat a whole batch by myself I might try roasting the eggplant (instead of boiling) and adding more seasoning to the "goop" and to the flour, and breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Wanted a new way to try eggplant so tried this, really liked it although i used what i had. Red and yellow peppers, and Parmesan cheese. Next time i make, i will sauté onion and peppers because the raw onion flavor was a bit strong. But overall really like made a double batch so have been enjoying leftovers. As long as my husband doesn't mind my onion breath,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
OMGosh!!! I had to try this recipe....I was looking for something different. I am the eggplant lover.My husband will take a taste. I made these and I could not wait for him to try. Well I got an OMGosh from him... "THESE THING"S ARE REALLY GOOD" I give it 10 stars (WE). Left out the green peppers. Not much of a pepper fan. And used Progresso.. panko Italian crispy bread crumbs. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I had some leftover eggplant that was very thinly sliced, about the equivalent to a full medium sized eggplant. I used that, and skipped the peppers as well (didn't have any). Ran out of breadcrumbs to dip, so blended some bread-stuffing and fried onions (the kind that go on green bean casserole) in the processor. We baked these instead of fried - about 20-25 minutes at 375. Excellent!! They taste kind of like the stuffing in stuffed crab...without the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My boyfriend took one bite and said this was the most delicious thing he ever tasted! It's definitely worth the preparation. I followed the recipes exactly, except used yellow bell instead of green. Fried them in medium hot vegetable oil until they were golden brown. There were layers of flavor unlike anything I've ever had before. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
i made these today. i did not use any paprika cause we did not have any. i had put parsley and garlic powder and season salt ,and black pepper in my bread crumbs. they were a very good hit here both of my roommates went crazy for them. i got about 2 dozen balls and there was only 8 left, that how good they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltinggranny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made these tonight and my husband loved them. I also threw some chopped spinach in them and baked them in an oven at 350 degrees sprayed w/ cooking spray cooked 15 min then turned them over and cooked an additional 15 min. til brown. It's an alternative way to cook healthy,TYVM Marbalet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by "Flowerchild"
Home Town: Clarksburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States