Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I'm an African American from the South, so I needed a collard green recipe that would not disappoint at the Thanksgiving table. This one was a hit and was very easy to prepare. Everyone loved them and made sure to take some to go. They were very well seasoned with the chicken broth, turkey leg and garlic. Only difference is that we bought the pre-washed Wal-Mart bags of collard greens, but still cooked them for the time outlined in this recipe. We used 4 bags with this recipe. Next time we can probably cut back and only use 3, because it made a whole lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I tried these about 2 months ago which was my first time ever making collard greens. Let me tell you something them were the BEST collard greens I have ever taste! OMG they were sooooooo GOOD and flavorful. My entire family LOVED them and being in a black family collard greens are traditional at the dinner table. All you need to do is follow the recipe. That's it! The only thing I did different was cook them a little longer. Either or they were FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Anadri, thank you so much for this recipe! My mother had doubts that I could make some decent collard greens for the Thanksgiving table, but I reassured her that even though I had never attempted to cook my own, she would love mine! I was going to use a hamhock, but I waited until the last minute to shop (Thanksgiving Eve) and the grocery store was out of them! I hoped and prayed that smoked turkey legs wouldn't compromise flavor. Boy, was I jumping for joy when I tasted my collard greens while they were cooking! I made sure to clean them very thoroughly (rinsed them 3 times in cold water). Removed the stems, and ripped the leaves into smaller pieces with my hands. The chicken stock, onion (I added 1 small onion), and garlic added so much flavor! I think the key to making some good collards is to wash them thoroughly and to cook them through until they are tender. Don't hesitate to cook them a bit longer! You want them to have the same texture as barely wilted spinach- but let's face it, collards have so much more flavor :) Thanks for being a godsend! Mom and family had high praises. We dunked our breadrolls and cornbread in the delicious broth :9 Yum! * Prior to serving, I took the legs out, chopped into smaller pieces, and checked thoroughly for any loose pieces of cartilage in the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These are the best the same way I always cook mine. Of course being southern, we sometimes add fat back or bacon for flavoring also. Also if you find you greens with just a little bitter taste, I learned this trick from my granmother add about1 TBSP honey, srupor brown sugar. People who usually complain about the bitterness witll eat it when I add the sweet. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Absolutely delicious and yes, tasty! Cooking these greens in a mixture of chicken broth and smoked turkey promotes and outstanding and flavorful combination. Of course, I added my own touch somewhat by cooking the greens with a finely chopped small onion and replaced seasoning salt for regular salt. We'll enjoy this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Anadri, your recipe is terrific - thanks so much for sharing it. My boyfriend claimed his "Momma's" greens are the best, but after 3 full servings he had nothing to say but refilling his bowl with more. Thanks for helping me shut him AND his Momma up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is very similiar to the way I've always made collard greens. I usually use fresh garlic, but I took a shortcut the other night and used canned roasted garlic chicken stock and surprisingly the greens turned out even better! Used a splash of cayenne pepper instead of the red chile flakes and served with hot sauce. Very good! (Forgot to mention I added an onion to the chicken stock as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
great recipe. I would add a couple of things. One, adding sugar cuts the bitterness. Don't add more than a couple of tsp because you don't want the greens to taste sweet. Two, I add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar. I use rice vinegar but I don't think it makes a difference. Three, experiment with seasonings. I add garlic, onion powder, season salt, and others that I have experimented with over the years. The red pepper flakes are definitely a must but should be added maybe a half hour before cooking is complete. Last, try experimenting with different smoked meats. I've found that a combination of smoked turkey and smoked pork takes my greens over the edge. I have sliced fresh tomato handy for folks to cut up in their greens and a little pepper soaked vinegar. Been making greens this way for years. Never had one complaint and I am always asked to cook the greens at every occasion. Experiment and find combinations that you and your family will love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I have never made greens before and I looked at over a dozen recipies and called several people. I finally choose this recipe and it worked out great. My friend from Alabama even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was the 1st time I'd ever cooked collard greens. I sauteed a small chopped onion before adding 1 Tbsp (not 2) of garlic. It took quite a while to cook this but the smoked turkey drumstick added a nice flavor. I'd suggest tasting it at the end to see if you want to add any red pepper flakes &, if so, how much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States