Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Never made collard greens before but based on the reviews, I decided to try them. I ambitiously made this for Christmas. One word "WINNER!". My husband, who loves southern cooking, LOVED them! My mom who loved my grandmother's (R.I.P) greens, said these were almost on par with hers...I know she'd be proud. I didn't use the red pepper flakes but it wasn't missed. Also, my husband added vinegar to one of the multiple servings he had and said it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is the A-MA-ZING! This was my first time attempting to make green and they were a BIG success on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLIMURDOCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Ohh these were delicious my family said I was crazy for using smoked turkey leg instead of neck bones! Turned very tasty. They were a bit bitter but added a lil brown sugar and it evened it all out. Oh and only use a dash of chile flakes. Lets just say I blew they mouths off :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
As a southern girl living in MN, good soul-food style collards are non-existent unless I am on a road trip back home or make them myself, although I never got it quite right. I made slight variations to this recipe and now they taste like I have worked in a soul food restaurant for years! I forgot to buy turkey legs, so I used smoked pork neck bones instead. I also added a tiny bit (1/2 tsp or so?) of Liquid Smoke near the end, as suggested by another reviewer. They are amazing! I think the Liquid Smoke may have been what I was looking for but couldn't figure out. Thanks for posting this recipe for collards like I remember having back in LA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made this for Thanksgiving, and it passed my son-in-law's taste test. I used smoked ham hocks and omitted the salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
AMAZING!!! The flavor is perfect. These are by far the best greens I've ever experienced. Wish I could take the credit. I always put in lots of crushed red pepper flakes for an extra special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesserlynner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Mmmmm...this is SO good. I used a huge bag of collard greens from Wal-Mart, used alot more chicken stock and just roasted a chicken to go with it, taking off one of the legs about half way through cooking and put it in the broth for my greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner with Fried Chicken. It rocked! It takes awhile to make, but boy is it good! AND, every time I've had Collards before I made this, I HATED them! I'm now a Collard Green lover! Also, forgot to mention that I used smoked ham hocks instead of the turkey drumsticks, and added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made greens. I love southern cooking and I can cook and improvise pretty well so when I didn't see some ingredients in this dish I have heard added to greens I put my spin on it. I added about 3-tablespoons of molasses, 2-tablespoons of brown sugar and about a quarter cup of apple cider vinegar. It is best to add the molasses and brown sugar to the broth before the greens. I added the vinegar after about 30-min of cooking down. I used two bags of cut and cleaned collard greens. After it was done cooking I tasted the greens and added about 2-cups of hot water to balance the flavors. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I'm a new cook & a guy. So I thought I would try to grow some collards in the garden & cook them. I didn't have smoked turkey so subst smoked pork I had in the fridge. Plus added a whole red pepper in the broth for about an hour. This recipe is almost as good as my Mom used to make. This is a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States