Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
EXCELLENT!! We had never had collard greens till this evening, and this was a great recipe to try! I followed everything, except for the turkey. Instead, I used a smoked ham hock, as it's what I had on hand. I'll definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The best greens I've ever tasted! My husband and kids agreed. I added some onion to the chicken broth and used smoked ham since I didn't have turkey on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made these greens and I have to say they were delicious. This was my first time making fresh greens. All the flavors worked together wonderfully. The only change I made was that I sprinkled red pepper flakes into my greens instead of adding a whole tablespoon. That seemed like a bit much so I sided on caution. You won't be disappointed with this recipe. Can't wait till I make them again. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious! An easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Everyone raves about these greens, every single time. I just use washed n ready greens but other than that, no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I did something a little different with this recipe: I simmered smoked turkey wings with the broth, then chopped up some of the meat to add to the greens once they were cooked. I then added some fresh black-eyed peas and simmered a bit more till they were done (canned beans are good, too). I served it in bowls with the broth so it is more of a soup, and oh my is it good. Definitely a favorite of mine now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Amazing! Delish!! Even got my "non" greens eaters to enjoy it!! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccullough08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good recipe, but 2 things i do differently. I always add some diced jalapeno for some warmth and sometimes I use smoked turkey kielbasa instead of the smoked turkey leg. The meat lovers here like the greens with chunks of the kielbasa. Also, I have found that it is easier to cook the meat and stock for a good hour before adding the greens. This lets you adjust the cooking time of the greens (sometimes my greens are really little and cook well in 10 minutes and sometimes really big and tough and take 40 min). You just add the greens and when they are done, you remove from heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States