Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I have never been able to make greens before but with this recipes my greens always come out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great recipe! This is not my first time cooking collard greens, I just really wanted to try something different with them and I am so glad I came across this one first! Very, very delicious, my family tore them up! Husband was licking his fingers, my children couldn't stop complimenting me on the greens. Only thing I changed is, instead of turkey legs I used smoked turkey necks and I also added chopped onions along with the garlic. I will definitely cook my greens this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I think I was "fated" to find this recipe! For the first time in my life (65 yrs) I bought a smoked turkey leg @ the WM deli, not really knowing why. (I also bought a chimichanga, which I'd never had!) I had collards, because I buy them regularly. By accident, I came across this recipe, and so glad I did! Fantastic! I had to stop myself from drinking all the broth! My friend and I both loved them, so I will be making them again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Made this recently for my husband, who is diabetic. I was trying to find some interesting ways to serve greens because they are so low in carbohydrates. This is my first attempt ever to make collard greens--and I've been married nearly 36 years. I have to say, they were WONDERFUL. I didn't change a thing about the recipe, followed cooking times exactly. My only question while I was cooking was, How big is a bunch? I was worried about using too much/too much little of the leaves compared to the liquid involved. Anyway, I ended up using a huge, 2-lb bag of cleaned, cut up collards from Walmart, and the leaf-to-liquid ratio was perfect, not to mention the convenience of not having to wash or chop. About halfway through the cooking time I added another cup of boiling water to the pot. I may not have had to do this, actually, but I was lazy: I wanted to leave the room without watching the pot constantly to make sure it didn't run out of liquid. The collards were soft and tender but not mushy or slimy. The flavor was robust with just the perfect amount of garlic. The shreds of smoked turkey sprinkled throughout the greens (I simply pulled the meat away from the bone while the leg was still in the pot) were not too much--it still tasted like a vegetable dish. The oiliness factor was just right. All in all, a really great side dish. This recipe will feed a crowd. There's only three of us, so we will enjoy the greens for a week. Love this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was the best of the best collard greens I've ever had! Careful though, adding even a touch of crushed red pepper at the beginning can make this too hot for some kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The flavor is really good. I had to use more chicken stock and I threw in a pinch of sugar to draw out some of the bitterness of the greens but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I have tried this recipe and got great compliments on the dish, and I am cooking them a second time, thank you for the recipe. I do recommend this recipe, enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leggs
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
this was phenomenal.. only used 3 bunches of greens.. will buy the bagged stuff next time.. didnt add the red pepper flakes.. but did add some vinegar.. simmered for about an hour and a half.. me and bf really enjoyed this.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was delicious! One downside is that they burned because the chicken stock ended up boiling out (as noted by another review). Also, be careful about adding salt; I added barely any and it still turned out pretty salty. I'm guessing the smoked turkey must have been fairly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
EXCELLENT!! We had never had collard greens till this evening, and this was a great recipe to try! I followed everything, except for the turkey. Instead, I used a smoked ham hock, as it's what I had on hand. I'll definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States