Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made these for my Xmas brunch and they were very good and well seasoned. If you have leftovers after the first night definitely follow the advice of ANADRI and remove the liquid when you store. Mine were a little salty the second day. I didn't cook as long as suggested. I used a full bag of the fresh Greens found in the produce section. It seemed to be equal to the amount suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhillyGirl1908

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These were absolutely delicious!! I have been trying to find a go-to greens recipe for years and I've finally found it! The recipe was easy to follow and the greens were full of flavor from the turkey leg, chicken stock, and garlic. I modified the recipe by adding some diced onion to the garlic/olive oil mixture and also decreased the amount of crushed red pepper flakes to one teaspoon plus to taste. I made this for New Year's dinner and my guests thought these were the best greens ever. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a perfect recipe for collard greens. I sprinkled pepper vinegar over them at the end instead of using crushed red pepper flakes. Absolutely delicious, and even my 11-year old son loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for greens. I make greens regularly and this is the first time I actully followed a good recipe. I recommend not draining the greens and just using tongs to serve them and then to store the leftovers in the juice/liquid to add flavor and keep as much nutrients in the greens as possible because a lot of nutrients are in the liquid. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious. I used a smoked ham hock instead of the smoked turkey drumstick and added a chopped onion. Everyone liked it with the crushed red pepper flakes, but if your audience doesn't like very spicy food, cut back on the amount or don't add it. I did not add any salt, and used unsalted chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Deaton Glover
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is the BEST collard green recipe I've found so far! I won't even try another one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious recipe! I've been making collards for years and using the chicken stock made all the difference. I will use this recipe many more times. My mother was here when I used it the first time and she was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is the only recipe i will use to cook collards again. cooking the greens in chicken stock gives it a wonderful flavor, i use a bit more garlic everyone raves about the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TT Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
FABULOUS!! Coming from an interracial family I never had the nerve to try it... SO GLAD I DID....my husband can't enough! Modifications: added 1 whole onion with garlic and oil. Used 4 bags (32oz) of frozen prechopped (THANK YOU!), ended up using smoked neckbones as I couldn't find the smoked turkey leg. What is the difference by the way with stock and broth?? I used 3 boxes of chicken stock. As suggested by others I did not add salt... thank goodness. Did use black ppper and skipped the red pepper flakes. Flavor was fabulous. The tiny bits of meat that came off the neck bones was perfect (just like my mother in laws), very tender but definately don't short the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OMG!!! This was my first Thanksgiving dinner, and my first time cooking collard. They were GREAT, my cousin thought I used canned collards. They were GOOD. I dont even eat collards, now I do. Southern African-american family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States