Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is the first time I have ever cooked collard greens...was always to "afraid" that they wouldn't measure up to my friend's. This was so easy and the results were delicious! I could not find smoked turkey drumstick, so I used a smoked turkey wing, which seemed fine. The only other change I made was that I added a small chopped onion when I added the greens to the pot. Instead of salt and black pepper, I used Season All, which I layered throughout as I added the greens to the pot and let them cook down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ware De Antonio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I cook some smoked turkey wings in the pot for 2 hours, then I add collard greens and sometimes I mix them. Add olive oil. I cook another 1 hour. Seasoning them just right is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I've been looking for a good collard green recipe using turkey. Previously it's come out very bland and I had to add extra salt. These were very tasty. Used about 4 bunches of fresh greens. Made them for Christmas and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar, bacon salt, and head of cabbage , and use smoked pork or other smoked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very, very good! Thanks for the great recipe. The smoked turkey drumstick gave it a great flavor. I cooked up some sweet onions in the oil along with the garlic and used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes (family preference) like some other reviewers suggested and will do so again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have made collard greens before not exactly to this recipe but very similar. I will definitley cook it in chicken stock next time and add some minced garlic. If you love okras try throwing in some whole okras in the last 40 minutes of cooking the greens. You can also season with ham hock meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjackso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe! My entire family loves it, and my husband is always bragging about my greens to his friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I am so glad I came across this recipe. This is the FIRST time I've made collard greens where I actually enjoyed them. Even my daughters wanted second helpings. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
we loved this recipe. it was a hit on Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States