Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were so good. I've made collard greens before but they never tasted this good. I will be making them like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were the best collards I've ever made. Even my 17 yr old son ate them and liked them. He said "it's like bacony lettuce". I guess bacony lettuce is good. The smoked turkey leg really adds a lot of flavor and a lot to meat to the finished dish. Served them with a pot of beans (also seasoned with smoked turkey leg) and cornbread. I am a convert. I'll never use ham hock again. Sounthern country cookin at it's finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I've made this twice now and I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Really good recipe for collard greens, especially for a novice in the kitchen! Could not get a turkey drumstick, but was able to use a ham hock instead which offered great seasoning as well. My children all had extra helpings and asked for it to be served again!! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
We substituted swiss chard for collards and cooked it on a slightly lower temp for less time. I also used a ham hock instead of the stock and turkey leg. But it was a terrific starer recipe and I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is very similar to mine. I would only offer that crushed red pepper is essential!! Excellent job ANADRI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I put my own twist on this a bit .. I boiled the smoked ham hocks for a couple of hours until falling off the bone, in water not chicken stock....then added to the boiling water onions, garlic, salt and pepper (red pepper flakes are a little too much for my family). I also added about a half of a teaspoon of liquid smoke to the water for a smokier flavor. I added the greens and boiled for about an hour, they were perfect. The final touches are vinegar and sugar (a must) before serving. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Always a hit! Great dish to make a large batch of and refrigerate so you can eat when you want it. I use cured pork belly/ bacon instead of turkey since the smoked turkey drumstick is somewhat hard to find in our area- surprisingly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made these last night for dinner. I have been cooking my greens this way for years, but instead of the Turkey drumstick, I normally use ham hocks. This time I put a twist on it by adding a bunch of mustard greens and the greens still turned out very delicious. My husband and daughter could hardly wait for them to finish cooking. I think, I will continue adding mustard greens to the bunch; it seems to bump up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States