Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Mmmmm...this is SO good. I used a huge bag of collard greens from Wal-Mart, used alot more chicken stock and just roasted a chicken to go with it, taking off one of the legs about half way through cooking and put it in the broth for my greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner with Fried Chicken. It rocked! It takes awhile to make, but boy is it good! AND, every time I've had Collards before I made this, I HATED them! I'm now a Collard Green lover! Also, forgot to mention that I used smoked ham hocks instead of the turkey drumsticks, and added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made greens. I love southern cooking and I can cook and improvise pretty well so when I didn't see some ingredients in this dish I have heard added to greens I put my spin on it. I added about 3-tablespoons of molasses, 2-tablespoons of brown sugar and about a quarter cup of apple cider vinegar. It is best to add the molasses and brown sugar to the broth before the greens. I added the vinegar after about 30-min of cooking down. I used two bags of cut and cleaned collard greens. After it was done cooking I tasted the greens and added about 2-cups of hot water to balance the flavors. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I'm a new cook & a guy. So I thought I would try to grow some collards in the garden & cook them. I didn't have smoked turkey so subst smoked pork I had in the fridge. Plus added a whole red pepper in the broth for about an hour. This recipe is almost as good as my Mom used to make. This is a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
OMG this recipe is so the bomb. My family is from Panama and I did not grow up making or eating collard greens. I had a BBQ today for Sunday Night Football. I was a little apprehensive it being my first time and all. All my guest were saying these were the best tasting collard greens they ever had. I was so happy to hear that. Only thing I would hold back on the crushed red pepper flakes if you don't like hot food as well as I used season salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The amount of chicken stock was not enough for the medium high heat simmering for 45 minutes and I burnt the greens. Either simmer on low the whole time or add a LOT more fluids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have to say this recipe is outstanding. We absolutely love it. I am a southern gal who grew up with these comfort foods. I can honestly say my grandma would be proud if she tasted these. Oh, and my kids LOVE it! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
They are great..I cook it in the crock pot at night put in the garlic, chicken stock, drumstick cook over night in the morning take out the bone and skin then add the rest to the crock pot and let it cook while at work.. i also have added a little cider vinegar or brown sugar just to take away any bitter taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jagilbert
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These greens were my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner last year. I've never tried making collards before so I followed this recipe exactly. To summarize, these will now be a staple for Thanksgiving dinner from now on (and probably more often.) What a huge hit! My boyfriend commented that they were even better than our favorite soul food restaurant! Thanks for making good food AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe is great. I have been using it as my base greens recipe for awhile now and with just a few changes here and there to taste (I like some onion and a pinch or two of curry), it always get's compliments. I cut down on the olive oil a little bit because it seems like the turkey leg adds a bit of grease too, and they were a bit too oily for me the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States