Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Absolutely delicious and yes, tasty! Cooking these greens in a mixture of chicken broth and smoked turkey promotes and outstanding and flavorful combination. Of course, I added my own touch somewhat by cooking the greens with a finely chopped small onion and replaced seasoning salt for regular salt. We'll enjoy this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is very similiar to the way I've always made collard greens. I usually use fresh garlic, but I took a shortcut the other night and used canned roasted garlic chicken stock and surprisingly the greens turned out even better! Used a splash of cayenne pepper instead of the red chile flakes and served with hot sauce. Very good! (Forgot to mention I added an onion to the chicken stock as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
I had never had collard greens before. After having them at a restaurant, I decided to try and make them at home. This recipe was fantastic. I even impressed some friends who grew up in North Carolina. (I live in Michigan) Made 8 servings for 5 people hoping to have left overs, but the bowl was empty at the end of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
These are the best collard greens I have ever tasted. Whenever I make these I get rave reviews. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
this recipe was great, and had a true and rich taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
The greens were a huge hit. I purchased 1 bag of the precleaned/precut greens(still washed them anyway). Even my grandma commented on the greens, which means "I have arrived" !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I have never made greens before and I looked at over a dozen recipies and called several people. I finally choose this recipe and it worked out great. My friend from Alabama even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe was wonderful. I was a little hesitant at first because the recipe was totally different from any collard greens that I have ever had, but my husband and I thought that these were great! Even my three year-old said, "these 'gweens' are good, mama!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was the 1st time I'd ever cooked collard greens. I sauteed a small chopped onion before adding 1 Tbsp (not 2) of garlic. It took quite a while to cook this but the smoked turkey drumstick added a nice flavor. I'd suggest tasting it at the end to see if you want to add any red pepper flakes &, if so, how much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Tasty and easy to make. This recipes is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States