Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I've never made collards before but these were sooo yummy! i used a smoked ham bone that i had leftover.. They were so tender and wonderful, thanks for posting this recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These were delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Washington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Never made collard greens before but based on the reviews, I decided to try them. I ambitiously made this for Christmas. One word "WINNER!". My husband, who loves southern cooking, LOVED them! My mom who loved my grandmother's (R.I.P) greens, said these were almost on par with hers...I know she'd be proud. I didn't use the red pepper flakes but it wasn't missed. Also, my husband added vinegar to one of the multiple servings he had and said it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is the A-MA-ZING! This was my first time attempting to make green and they were a BIG success on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLIMURDOCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Ohh these were delicious my family said I was crazy for using smoked turkey leg instead of neck bones! Turned very tasty. They were a bit bitter but added a lil brown sugar and it evened it all out. Oh and only use a dash of chile flakes. Lets just say I blew they mouths off :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
As a southern girl living in MN, good soul-food style collards are non-existent unless I am on a road trip back home or make them myself, although I never got it quite right. I made slight variations to this recipe and now they taste like I have worked in a soul food restaurant for years! I forgot to buy turkey legs, so I used smoked pork neck bones instead. I also added a tiny bit (1/2 tsp or so?) of Liquid Smoke near the end, as suggested by another reviewer. They are amazing! I think the Liquid Smoke may have been what I was looking for but couldn't figure out. Thanks for posting this recipe for collards like I remember having back in LA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made this for Thanksgiving, and it passed my son-in-law's taste test. I used smoked ham hocks and omitted the salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
AMAZING!!! The flavor is perfect. These are by far the best greens I've ever experienced. Wish I could take the credit. I always put in lots of crushed red pepper flakes for an extra special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesserlynner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Mmmmm...this is SO good. I used a huge bag of collard greens from Wal-Mart, used alot more chicken stock and just roasted a chicken to go with it, taking off one of the legs about half way through cooking and put it in the broth for my greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States