Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is exactly how I make my collard greens. The only thing diffrent...I sautee 1/2 of an onion and 3 garlic cloves and add to my chicken broth...Delicious!!! I'm not a cooker but I get a lot of compliments on these greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was my first time eating or cooking collard greens. All I can say is YUMMY! I didn't have a smoked turkey drumstick so I used Liquid Smoke. I can't wait to make them again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Dee-licious, but I made them with canadian bacon ends. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These turned out very tasty as suggested! However, I had two pretty major issues with the recipe. First, I am not sure what size pot is recommended, but I used a large dutch oven pot and the turkey leg was sticking out of the pot the entire time it was cooking. So, I could not fit the lid tight. Once I added the collards I cooked it at about 6.5 on my stove and then on the last step set the stove to about 3-3.5. I also couldn't close the lid properly, so the water may have evaporated off a little quicker. On the last step, it only needed about 30 minutes more cook time. The second was that the recipe suggested that it made 10 servings. However, by the time it cooked down, I was lucky to get 5 servings. I ended up using homemade turkey stock and it worked great. I didn't add the optional red pepper flakes, pepper, or addtional salt. The stock and smoked turkey leg definitely had plenty of salt and flavor. I admit, I was really surprised how well this did turn out taste wise. My plan next time, is to make two pots or find a larger pot. I may also just try a smoked turkey wing. I will miss the meat, but it will at least fit in the pot. Either way, I think I will make this again on a holiday occasion. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These were super tasty! I cut the recipe down to 1/4 to feed just me and my husband and we both just gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These greens were absolutely excellent. My family loved them and said the greens were one of the best they ever tasted!!! Next time I will use smoke tukey necks. Drumsticks are too big!! I didn't use any red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This recipe is as "Southern" as one can get. Just like my great Aunt in East Texas use to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe turned out very flavorful. I did add a small bit of red onion to the garlic when I sauteed it. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I leave out the turkey drumstick altogether and this is absolutely delicious! I have made this several time and it always receives rave reviews from some people who know how greens should be. They say the greens taste like they were cooked with ham or turkey even though they were not. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Broth is so good you could drink it! I cooked onion and fresh garlic together then added the chicken broth and a cup of water. I used smoked turkey wings instead. I always remove the bone and cut off some of the meat halfway through and return it all to the pot for more flavor. The red pepper flake gives it a great kick. My 6 year old daughter will only eat these greens that I make which really upsets Nana and other family members. "My mama's greens are better!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States