Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent collard greens and so glad I didn't have to use fatback. I could not find a smoked turkey leg on Thanksgiving Eve but my grocer did have smoked turkey necks. I used about 3 necks out of the package. Once simmered and cooked well, I removed the necks and tore off small pieces of meat to add back to the greens (and discarded the boney parts). I had homemade chicken broth in the freezer to use. Recipe calls for FIVE bunches of collards. I had 2 large bunches and it took a long time to prep: washing, discarding the center stem and then chopping the leaves. It was worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCLadyA
Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
They turned out great. Along with the garlic, I cut up 1/2 of a onion and sauté together. I season with garlic salt as well. I cooked for several hours on low heat. About one hour before serving, I added five yellow chili peppers. I did not drain the greens, the juice is the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are the best collard greens. I get so many compliments when ever I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This turned out so delicious. I used 3 bunches of collards with one whole smoked turkey leg. I only made 5 servings (using the recipe adjuster) which called for 3 cups of chicken stock, but I ended up using the entire 32-oz (4 cups) carton. After the greens were done cooking, I removed the turkey leg, let it cool and then shredded the meat and added it back to the greens. I also added a just a teaspoon or so of red pepper flakes. Other than that, I followed the instructions to the letter. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is the bomb!!!! I add a little sugar and vinegar...nothing better. I always get rave reviews about my collards. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical at first but these greens really are amazing! I did however use a smoked turkey wing instead of drumstick and added about 2 tablespoons of apple vinegar while cooking which gave it an special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good recipe! Going to add some extra ingredients like my dads greens..hope he shares the secret ingredients so I can come back and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were yummy! My family raved about them! One word of caution, though: watch the liquid levels toward the end. I scorched the bottom layer, because the broth completely cooked off. And I followed the directions to a T. But lesson learned! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like to add sauteed onion and some minced jalapeno pepper (patti labelle idea) to make nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Wow, this is an excellent receipe. Easy to make and tastes great. I used ham hocks instead of a smoked turkey leg and took out the fat after it was done. Also I added 10 crisp pieces of bacon (chopped them into small pieces) 1/2 an hour before they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaspider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States