Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This turned out so delicious. I used 3 bunches of collards with one whole smoked turkey leg. I only made 5 servings (using the recipe adjuster) which called for 3 cups of chicken stock, but I ended up using the entire 32-oz (4 cups) carton. After the greens were done cooking, I removed the turkey leg, let it cool and then shredded the meat and added it back to the greens. I also added a just a teaspoon or so of red pepper flakes. Other than that, I followed the instructions to the letter. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is the bomb!!!! I add a little sugar and vinegar...nothing better. I always get rave reviews about my collards. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical at first but these greens really are amazing! I did however use a smoked turkey wing instead of drumstick and added about 2 tablespoons of apple vinegar while cooking which gave it an special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good recipe! Going to add some extra ingredients like my dads greens..hope he shares the secret ingredients so I can come back and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were yummy! My family raved about them! One word of caution, though: watch the liquid levels toward the end. I scorched the bottom layer, because the broth completely cooked off. And I followed the directions to a T. But lesson learned! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like to add sauteed onion and some minced jalapeno pepper (patti labelle idea) to make nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Wow, this is an excellent receipe. Easy to make and tastes great. I used ham hocks instead of a smoked turkey leg and took out the fat after it was done. Also I added 10 crisp pieces of bacon (chopped them into small pieces) 1/2 an hour before they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaspider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is exactly how I make my collard greens. The only thing diffrent...I sautee 1/2 of an onion and 3 garlic cloves and add to my chicken broth...Delicious!!! I'm not a cooker but I get a lot of compliments on these greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was my first time eating or cooking collard greens. All I can say is YUMMY! I didn't have a smoked turkey drumstick so I used Liquid Smoke. I can't wait to make them again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Dee-licious, but I made them with canadian bacon ends. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States