Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is the bomb!!!! I add a little sugar and vinegar...nothing better. I always get rave reviews about my collards. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical at first but these greens really are amazing! I did however use a smoked turkey wing instead of drumstick and added about 2 tablespoons of apple vinegar while cooking which gave it an special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good recipe! Going to add some extra ingredients like my dads greens..hope he shares the secret ingredients so I can come back and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were yummy! My family raved about them! One word of caution, though: watch the liquid levels toward the end. I scorched the bottom layer, because the broth completely cooked off. And I followed the directions to a T. But lesson learned! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like to add sauteed onion and some minced jalapeno pepper (patti labelle idea) to make nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Wow, this is an excellent receipe. Easy to make and tastes great. I used ham hocks instead of a smoked turkey leg and took out the fat after it was done. Also I added 10 crisp pieces of bacon (chopped them into small pieces) 1/2 an hour before they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaspider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is exactly how I make my collard greens. The only thing diffrent...I sautee 1/2 of an onion and 3 garlic cloves and add to my chicken broth...Delicious!!! I'm not a cooker but I get a lot of compliments on these greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was my first time eating or cooking collard greens. All I can say is YUMMY! I didn't have a smoked turkey drumstick so I used Liquid Smoke. I can't wait to make them again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Dee-licious, but I made them with canadian bacon ends. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These turned out very tasty as suggested! However, I had two pretty major issues with the recipe. First, I am not sure what size pot is recommended, but I used a large dutch oven pot and the turkey leg was sticking out of the pot the entire time it was cooking. So, I could not fit the lid tight. Once I added the collards I cooked it at about 6.5 on my stove and then on the last step set the stove to about 3-3.5. I also couldn't close the lid properly, so the water may have evaporated off a little quicker. On the last step, it only needed about 30 minutes more cook time. The second was that the recipe suggested that it made 10 servings. However, by the time it cooked down, I was lucky to get 5 servings. I ended up using homemade turkey stock and it worked great. I didn't add the optional red pepper flakes, pepper, or addtional salt. The stock and smoked turkey leg definitely had plenty of salt and flavor. I admit, I was really surprised how well this did turn out taste wise. My plan next time, is to make two pots or find a larger pot. I may also just try a smoked turkey wing. I will miss the meat, but it will at least fit in the pot. Either way, I think I will make this again on a holiday occasion. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States