Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Wonderful greens. The first time I've made greens and it was so easy! Having just moved to TN from OR I was getting a lot of flack about my "Yankee cooking," but now my friends are thinking twice. I bought 2 bags of frozen, chopped collards (the store's fresh bunches looked less than fresh) and subbed 2# smoked ham hocks for the turkey. Also I added about 1 tbsp each of onion powder, paprika, and cayenne pepper. I also added about 2 tbsps of butter just before serving. Will def make again SOON. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I'm from the South, and love traditional, long-cooked greens. Using the smoked turkey is a great alternative to pork. Fresh collards in the fall/early winter are the best to use, if possible. If it's not possible to get fresh ones, bagged greens found in the produce section will work. If they're a little bitter, add about a tablespoon of sugar. It makes a difference and you won't taste the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
very good and easy to prepare; tasty with the dash of crushed red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Kosher Collards! I could feed these to my Jewish husband because there is no pork in them. One of my black friends exclaimed that they were better than his mother's. Is there a higher compliment?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Not bad, not awesome like everyone says, but not bad. They are better than what I was doing with Collards on my own, but there is still something missing from when I've had it made by relatives. "Pork" would be the easy answer, but I've had it with smoked turkey before and I still can't put my finger on what is missing. Or maybe it is Pork, lol. I did add a little vinegar and I enhanced it with the Goya jambon (ham) seasoning, as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
VERY GOOD but seemed a little salty. Since others haven't commented on this it must just be me. Next time I'm not going to add any extra salt and might venture out and try to make my own broth. Also, I only used a couple of tablespoons of oil. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These were good I threw everything in a crock pot and used afew hot peppers instead of flakes. Cooked until tender 8 hours on low. Note I cooked turkey leg by itself for an hour picked of skin and removed grisel. Put clean bone back in so I didn't have and sharp objects in the collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
WOW!! I am a Black woman in my 40's and I have NEVER liked greens in my life UNTIL THIS RECIPE!!! I served canned greens a couple weeks prior & they were NOT a huge hit. My family normally would have to eat the homemade ones at family gatherings but I decided to give it a try to surprise my family. I could not stop eating them. They are the BEST!! I have shared them with family & friends who ate greens for years and said that MY GREENS were the best that they ever had. Thanks for not only giving out a good recipe but causing me to eat something I despised for soooo long. I made them just the way the recipe states, no changes. I didn't need the red pepper flakes and they were simply delicious. THANK YOU ANADRI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Might as well go ahead and add my 5 stars to the group of reviews. I made this as well as another from this site using ham hocks. They were both tasty, but this is for sure my go-to collard green recipe from now on. The search for the best is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is the first time I made collards and it was easier than I thought. I bought the bag collards which saved alot of cleaning time. I used broth by accident instead of stock, not sure if that made a difference in flavor. I thought it needed more flavor (maybe because of the broth I used)so I added bacon and that made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States