Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Not bad, not awesome like everyone says, but not bad. They are better than what I was doing with Collards on my own, but there is still something missing from when I've had it made by relatives. "Pork" would be the easy answer, but I've had it with smoked turkey before and I still can't put my finger on what is missing. Or maybe it is Pork, lol. I did add a little vinegar and I enhanced it with the Goya jambon (ham) seasoning, as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
VERY GOOD but seemed a little salty. Since others haven't commented on this it must just be me. Next time I'm not going to add any extra salt and might venture out and try to make my own broth. Also, I only used a couple of tablespoons of oil. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These were good I threw everything in a crock pot and used afew hot peppers instead of flakes. Cooked until tender 8 hours on low. Note I cooked turkey leg by itself for an hour picked of skin and removed grisel. Put clean bone back in so I didn't have and sharp objects in the collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
WOW!! I am a Black woman in my 40's and I have NEVER liked greens in my life UNTIL THIS RECIPE!!! I served canned greens a couple weeks prior & they were NOT a huge hit. My family normally would have to eat the homemade ones at family gatherings but I decided to give it a try to surprise my family. I could not stop eating them. They are the BEST!! I have shared them with family & friends who ate greens for years and said that MY GREENS were the best that they ever had. Thanks for not only giving out a good recipe but causing me to eat something I despised for soooo long. I made them just the way the recipe states, no changes. I didn't need the red pepper flakes and they were simply delicious. THANK YOU ANADRI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Might as well go ahead and add my 5 stars to the group of reviews. I made this as well as another from this site using ham hocks. They were both tasty, but this is for sure my go-to collard green recipe from now on. The search for the best is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is the first time I made collards and it was easier than I thought. I bought the bag collards which saved alot of cleaning time. I used broth by accident instead of stock, not sure if that made a difference in flavor. I thought it needed more flavor (maybe because of the broth I used)so I added bacon and that made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
If you're a Northerner like me, you may be squeamish about trying greens. After tasting some remarkable collards at a soul food restaurant in Charlotte, I have looked for something similar and even grew collards in hopes that I could recreate that recipe. This is it! Even my son, who strongly dislikes greens agreed to try these and enjoyed them. Looks like I'll keep a collard patch every year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very easy and loaded with flavor! My husband loved the zing that red chile flakes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi2167

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My Mom said that these were really good. It was my first time attempting collard greens and I although I did not like them, I know that they tasted the way they were supposed to taste. I am very proud of myself for executing this recipe. I could not find a smoked turkey leg, so I added "a dash" of liquid smoke and that seemed to do the trick. My Mom is the big cooker in the house and if she liked them, they must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamjes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States