Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OMG!!! This was my first Thanksgiving dinner, and my first time cooking collard. They were GREAT, my cousin thought I used canned collards. They were GOOD. I dont even eat collards, now I do. Southern African-american family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made adjustments to the recipe and the greens still came out tasty. Instead of chicken stock I boiled the smoked turkey in water. Once done, I pulled pieces of the turkey from the bone and added these pieces to the greens cooking in the turkey broth. Seasoned with salt, pepper, seasoned salt, and a tablespoon of sugar at the end. No garlic, no crushed red pepper. Made the night before, and reheated the next day for Thanksgiving dinner. Drained most, but not all of the liquid before serving. Everyone enjoyed. Giving 4 stars because I made several changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I knew this would be good because it was similar to a family recipe I used years back so I was REALLY pleased with it. I followed the recipe and used 2 smoked turkey necks. I think the smoked turkey and broth were PLENTY for the seasoning so I won't add more than a pinch of salt next time. I used two bags of Glory pre-washed/pre-cut collards and I this was the perfect amount for us. My brother in law told me that he had never had collards and decided he didn't like them until he tasted mine today as apart of his left-overs from turkey-day. He said he's now mad that he didn't have any on thanksgiving because he loved them! So did I and I grew up on my grandmother's greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedchef08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Best collards ever! I used a ham hock instead of the turkey leg. Husband actually eats these, and he normally hates collards. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Considering I never had the 'urge' to cook or eat Collard Greens .. this recipe really helped. I substituted Pancetta which I browned with the garlic and olive oil, then added the chicken broth & greens. I added salt which was absolutely not necessary .. couldn't eat it because it was too salty. I would try this again and omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I tried the recipe verbatim, and this being my first attempt at collard greens I think it came out really well. I wasnt sure what to do with the smoked turkey...so after it had cooked with the collards i shredded it and put in in with them to serve. Bad call on my part...I think they would have been better off on their own. Next time I think im going to try it with onions as another person suggested, they would definitely add some dimension. Low sodium chicken stock is the way to go here as well...with the smoked turkey it would be easy to get too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Wonderful greens. The first time I've made greens and it was so easy! Having just moved to TN from OR I was getting a lot of flack about my "Yankee cooking," but now my friends are thinking twice. I bought 2 bags of frozen, chopped collards (the store's fresh bunches looked less than fresh) and subbed 2# smoked ham hocks for the turkey. Also I added about 1 tbsp each of onion powder, paprika, and cayenne pepper. I also added about 2 tbsps of butter just before serving. Will def make again SOON. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I'm from the South, and love traditional, long-cooked greens. Using the smoked turkey is a great alternative to pork. Fresh collards in the fall/early winter are the best to use, if possible. If it's not possible to get fresh ones, bagged greens found in the produce section will work. If they're a little bitter, add about a tablespoon of sugar. It makes a difference and you won't taste the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
very good and easy to prepare; tasty with the dash of crushed red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Kosher Collards! I could feed these to my Jewish husband because there is no pork in them. One of my black friends exclaimed that they were better than his mother's. Is there a higher compliment?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States