Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe! My entire family loves it, and my husband is always bragging about my greens to his friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I am so glad I came across this recipe. This is the FIRST time I've made collard greens where I actually enjoyed them. Even my daughters wanted second helpings. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
we loved this recipe. it was a hit on Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The Collard green was excellent. It was a very easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
great recipe. I would add a couple of things. One, adding sugar cuts the bitterness. Don't add more than a couple of tsp because you don't want the greens to taste sweet. Two, I add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar. I use rice vinegar but I don't think it makes a difference. Three, experiment with seasonings. I add garlic, onion powder, season salt, and others that I have experimented with over the years. The red pepper flakes are definitely a must but should be added maybe a half hour before cooking is complete. Last, try experimenting with different smoked meats. I've found that a combination of smoked turkey and smoked pork takes my greens over the edge. I have sliced fresh tomato handy for folks to cut up in their greens and a little pepper soaked vinegar. Been making greens this way for years. Never had one complaint and I am always asked to cook the greens at every occasion. Experiment and find combinations that you and your family will love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
GREAT!GREAT!GREAT!So good no one will want to ad a dash of ANYTHING to them when your done , there just that good! So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Best tasting greens I had in a very long time. With the crushed red peper it gives it just a little kick. Great added twist will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Perfect for when you have run out of bacon grease! The only thing I did different was left out the drumstick and added minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were so good. I've made collard greens before but they never tasted this good. I will be making them like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were the best collards I've ever made. Even my 17 yr old son ate them and liked them. He said "it's like bacony lettuce". I guess bacony lettuce is good. The smoked turkey leg really adds a lot of flavor and a lot to meat to the finished dish. Served them with a pot of beans (also seasoned with smoked turkey leg) and cornbread. I am a convert. I'll never use ham hock again. Sounthern country cookin at it's finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States