Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Pretty good start with chicken stock and turkey leg. I usually use ham hocks and water. I'm not used to tasting garlic in greens, so that was a bit of a distraction that actually led to the best pot of greens I've ever made. I added white vinegar to taste, seasoning salt to taste, and an onion. Also, I used three bags of the pre-cut Glory greens, and I kept adding alternating amounts of water and extra chicken stock as I cooked them until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sjambutter
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
#tummyhappiness. This was a easy recipe with great results!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
this was my first time making greens and i though that it came out great!! yes, i did encounter problems with the greens burning to bottom of pot because the sock was gone... but that should be easily fixed. the flavor was awesome and i will definitly make it more from here on out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Didn't use garlic, but they were so yummy without then. And I am a born and raised southern lady. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this for 70 seniors and they all want the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These green are absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe! I made no changes at all. I use low sodium chicken stock though; be careful not to make them too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coram, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KC
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Really good. I used smoked bacon instead of turkey. Still was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
After discovering this recipe I dont think I will cook greens any other way. One of my guest said that this was the best greens she ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtwells
Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I just add water to mine….still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My first time making Collard greens myself, and this recipe was excellent! My husband and kids LOVED them. Everyone had extra helpings, which never happens with a vegetable. Added 1 tsp brown sugar and 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar as some reviews recommended, and left out crushed red pepper because my kids can't handle spicy. I added some Tabasco on my helping, and definitely kicked the flavor up to the next level. Delicious with or without though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States